Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Richard Marius


Photo: © Nancy Crampton

About the Author

RICHARD MARIUS was born and grew up on a farm in East Tennessee. He received his bachelor?s degree from the University of Tennessee and his doctorate from Yale University. After teaching history at Gettysburg College and the University of Tennessee, he headed the Expository Writing Program at Harvard from 1978 to 1998. 

An Affair of Honor is the third of a loose trilogy of novels set in fictional Bourbon County, Tennessee, the first two volumes being The Coming of Rain and After the War. He is also the author of a fourth novel, Bound for the Promised Land; two major biographies, Thomas More and Martin Luther; and a style book, The Writer?s Companion. He was the editor of a book of Civil War poetry and of several volumes in the Yale Edition of The Complete Works of Thomas More. He died in 1999.

Sign me up for news about Richard Marius

Back to Top