Anne Michaels

On Tour
Photo of Anne Michaels

Photo: © Marzena Pogorzaly

About the Author

Anne Michaels’ books are published in over 45 countries. She is the author of four highly acclaimed poetry collections: The Weight of Oranges (1986), which won the Commonwealth Prize for the Americas; Miner’s Pond (1991), which received the Canadian Authors Association Award and was shortlisted for the Governor General’s Award and the Trillium Award (these two volumes were published in a single-volume edition in 1997); Skin Divers (1999); and Correspondences (2014) which was shortlisted for the Griffin Prize. A new book of poems is forthcoming in 2017 (McClelland & Stewart/Penguin Random House).

Fugitive Pieces (1996) is Anne Michaels’ multi-award-winning, internationally bestselling first novel. In Canada, it was #1, and on the national bestseller list for more than three years. The novel was adapted as a feature film which opened the Toronto Film Festival and was distributed internationally. The novel has won many awards in Canada and internationally, including: the Orange Prize, the Guardian Fiction Award, the Lannan Award, the Chapters/Books in Canada Award, the Trillium Award, the City of Toronto Book Award; and the Giuseppe Acerbi Prize. The novel was shortlisted for the Giller Prize as was her novel, The Winter Vault. Anne Michaels is Toronto’s Poet Laureate.

Sign me up for news about Anne Michaels

Back to Top