Browse through these chilling novels
14 Visions of a Dystopian America, from Orwell to Atwood
View the List

Imre Kertesz

Photo of Imre Kertesz

Photo: © Isolde Ohlbaum

About the Author

Imre Kertész, who was born in 1929 and imprisoned in Auschwitz and Buchenwald as a youth, worked as a journalist and playwright before publishing Fatelessness, his first novel, in 1975. He is the author of Looking for a Clue, Detective Story, The Failure, The Union Jack, Kaddish for an Unborn Child, and A Galley-Slave’s Journal. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2002. He lives in Budapest and Berlin.

Sign me up for news about Imre Kertesz

Books by Imre Kertesz published by Melville House

More Series From Imre Kertesz

Vintage International

Back to Top