Browse through these chilling novels
14 Visions of a Dystopian America, from Orwell to Atwood
View the List

Jan De Hartog

Photo of Jan De Hartog

About the Author

Jan de Hartog was born in Haarlem, Netherlands, in 1914. His play, The Fourposter, won the Tony Award for Best Play. His twenty-one novels, published over a fifty-two year period, include The Captain, The Commodore, and a trilogy fictionalizing the Society of Friends: The Peaceable Kingdom, The Peculiar People, and The Outer Buoy. De Hartog died in 20021 at the age of eighty-eight.

Sign me up for news about Jan De Hartog

Books by Jan De Hartog

Back to Top