Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Don’t miss these
40 books to read before you turn 40
See the List

Goodnight, Nebraska

Goodnight, Nebraska by Tom McNeal
Paperback
Jun 01, 1999 | 336 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $16.95

    Jun 01, 1999 | 336 Pages

  • Ebook $10.99

    Sep 23, 2009

Product Details

Praise

"You’ll want…to buy copies for all your reading friends–flawless."–San Francisco Chronicle
  
"What a remarkable debut!… A small town that is as vivid and alive as Sinclair Lewis’s Zenith, Sherwood Anderson’s Winesburg, Ohio, and Garrison Keillor’s Lake Wobegon."–The Denver Post
    
"Deft, touching, and humorous. In the tradition of Richard Ford, Raymond Carver, and Anne Tyler."–The Christian Science Monitor

"McNeal is aware that many more of us will accept the sadness we know than venture out in search of a possibly painful unknown–and he renders such decisions in language whose very plainess feels musical."–The New York Times

"A vivid, tender and thoughtful portrait of a great plains farm town. These sad, secret stories bring out the best of McNeal’s writing, and are his finest and most lasting gifts to the reader."–Los Angeles Times

"Completely compelling. A beautifully drawn portrait of a town that at once combines and cradles the people who grow up in it."–National Public Radio

"A strange, bumpy, and memorable trip through small town USA–a compelling journey into the heart of American life."–Redbook

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top