The Deep Dark

Ebook $11.99

Crown | Mar 01, 2005 | 336 Pages | ISBN 9780307237309

  • Paperback$16.00

    Broadway Books | Mar 28, 2006 | 416 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780307238771

  • Ebook$11.99

    Crown | Mar 01, 2005 | 336 Pages | ISBN 9780307237309

Praise

"Olsen tells a vividly detailed, heartbreaking tale about a dark, alien place, the people who loved working there and a town that has never been the same. He brings to life the hot, dirty, treasure-hunt environment where "danger was a miner’s heroin." — Seattle Times

"Powerful and haunting"—Seattle Post-Intelligencer

“Gregg Olsen is the perfect guide as he leads the reader down into a whole new world underground, with its own lore, language, and laws. The Deep Dark is as gripping and necessary as true-life drama gets.”—Stewart O’Nan, author of The Circus Fire

“Compellingly told, honestly written, The Deep Dark is a story that resonates and lingers, long after the final page is read. In addition to being a gripping account of an American tragedy, it is a brutal, enlightening, bone-chilling glimpse into the underground of the nation’s mining industry. Gregg Olsen skillfully captures the details of Sunshine Mine, its ill-fated miners, the friends and family left behind, and the disaster itself with the intimacy of an insider, making you feel the smoke, the heat, the confinement, and, ultimately, the terror of that May day in 1972. It is a story at once horrific and poignant, wholly absorbing and extraordinarily moving.” —Jennifer Niven, author of The Ice Master

“In the tradition of Young Men and Fire, The Deep Dark is an exceptional, haunting documentary. Like an epic folk song, it crackles with the language of rough men working—and dying—in unspeakable ways and pays tribute to a community that might otherwise be bleached from our memories. This book does what all superior journalism should do: it unearths an important story and tells it with great feeling.” —McKay Jenkins, author of The White Death

“Gregg Olsen’s narrative is so riveting I had to keep reminding myself that this is a nonfiction page-turner, not a suspense novel. The grit, the darkness, the stifling air and choking smoke, the fear of being trapped deep underground, the tender camaraderie between the toughest of men—I experienced all of them reading this book.” —Stephen Puleo, author of Dark Tide: The Great Boston Molasses Flood of 1919

“Olsen presents the extraordinary story of the Sunshine Mine disaster in gripping, heartrending prose. In Olsen’s telling, we come to see that the story is not merely a deadly disaster but rather a tale of the uncommon courage, perseverance, and heroism of everyday people.” —Edward T. O’Donnell, author of Ship Ablaze: The Tragedy of the Steamboat General Slocum

“Gregg Olsen has presented a well-researched, graphic account of the worst underground fire in a hardrock mine in American history. When the ’Shine resumed underground operations in December 1972, I hired out as a replacement for one of the guys who died in the fire. . . . I can tell you The Deep Dark is as real as it gets. I actually found myself short of breath as I read.” —Jerry Dolph, author of Fire in the Hole: The Untold Story of Hardrock Miners

"Gripping." —Oregonian

"Spellbinding." —Daily Olympian

"Harrowing." —Bellingham Herald

"A spectacluar piece of journalism." —Missoulian

"An exciting, vital, memorable book." —Salem Statesman Journal

"Insightful and a powerful narrative." —Vancouver Columbian


From the Hardcover edition.

Also by Gregg Olsen

Beaks & Geeks
Back to Top