The Shadow of God

Ebook $15.99

Dec 18, 2007 | 304 Pages

  • Ebook $15.99

    Dec 18, 2007 | 304 Pages

Praise

“Faith in God! What a beautiful and elusive thing faith is. I have never heard the complexity of faith so elegantly and simply described as in Charles Scribner’s book The Shadow of God. ” —Dominick Dunne

“Charles Scribner has revived the art form of ‘personal history’ with verve, style, and magical description. Scribner has a fascinating life —music, art, religion, book publishing, and has integrated it all around his religious faith. Even for those who do not know him personally, this will be a book that will be very hard to put down.” —Andrew M. Greeley


“Beautifully written.  The Shadow of God is an interesting and memorable personal journey.” —Mary Higgins Clark


“Charles Scribner III is a truly cultivated and thoughtful gentleman who wishes to express his personal, sincere, and reverent exaltation of Almighty God.  Within the pages of this book the reader will find humor, faith, refinement, and purpose as well as Mr. Scribner’s desire to place on his spiritual altar great music, art, and literature in praise of God’s abundant blessings to humankind.” —Van Cliburn


“A luminous journey that moves from the feast of the Epiphany to the same feast a year later — weaving the present with the past, gathering meaning and momentum from day to day and, on its immensely touching final pages, finding peace that passes understanding. Mr. Scribner sees the presence of God in places both ordinary and extraordinary — not least his beloved New York, where epiphanies seem to happen every day.” —M. Owen Lee, author of A Book of Hours


“A feast for the head, heart, and spirit! This year-long journal through memory, art, and faith is rich fare and a rollicking good read. A new must-read for fans of Thomas Merton and Eudora Welty.” —Mark S. Massa, S.J., author of Catholic and American Culture


“This charmingly conceived and beautifully written autobiography, made up of almost daily entries in a journal, traces the author’s spiritual development through his passion for classical music, poetry, and prose, and the love of family and friends in a happy and prosperous Protestant life, to what to him is the more deeply felt inspiration of the Catholic church to which he ultimately converts. Like King Agrippa in the Acts of the Apostles, one is almost converted!” —Louis S. Auchincloss

Product Details

First to Read
Back to Top