Celebrate Women's History Month
Get inspired and get informed
Read the list here
Paperback $16.95

Jan 14, 1997 | 304 Pages

Ebook $11.99

Sep 19, 2012 | 304 Pages

  • Paperback $16.95

    Jan 14, 1997 | 304 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    Sep 19, 2012 | 304 Pages

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House


Man Booker Prize WINNER 1996

IMPAC Dublin Literary Award FINALIST 1998


“A profound, intricately stratified novel full of life, love lost and love enduring.” — The Globe and Mail

“Swift is surely one of England’s finest living novelists…. The tale he tells is as affecting as it is convincing…. Quietly, but with conviction, he seeks to reaffirm the values of decency, loyalty, love.” — The New York Review of Books

Author Q&A

Graham Swift was born in 1949 in London, where he still lives and works. He is the author of six novels: The Sweet-Shop Owner, Shuttlecock, which received the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize; Waterland, which was short-listed for the Booker Prize and won the Guardian Fiction Award, the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize, and the Italian Permio Grinzane Cavour; Out of This World; Ever After, which won the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger; and Last Orders, which was awarded the Booker Prize. He is also the author of Learning to Swim, a collection of short stories. His work has been translated into more than twenty languages.

Product Details

Also by Graham Swift

Back to Top