Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
The Last Enemy by Grace Brophy

The Last Enemy

  • Paperback $15.95

    May 01, 2008 | 384 Pages

  • Ebook $9.99

    May 01, 2007 | 320 Pages

Product Details

Praise

Praise for The Last Enemy

“[Brophy shows] real compassion for a middle-aged American woman who horrifies her late mother’s Italian relations by moving into their mansion in Assisi . . . The story flourishes in its cloistered setting.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Fans of Donna Leon or Håkan Nesser will be ecstatic to find a kindred spirit in Grace Brophy.”
BookPage, Mystery of the Month

“Evocative . . . Cenni is well set up to return, and traditional mystery readers should welcome his continued investigations.”
The Baltimore Sun

The Last Enemy, Grace Brophy’s mystery in an Umbrian setting like no other, serves up more delights than the local pasticceria. The murder of Italian-American Rita Minelli during Holy Week in Assisi, with its warren of winding alleys, hidden squares and steep cobbled stairways, poses questions for Commissario Alessandro Cenni, not the least, those concerning a 17th-century manuscript, a Croatian immigrant, and a reclusive Contessa. With pressure from Rome, the Commissario’s own job is on the line. Brophy’s wry laser-like insight probes the layers of Italian aristocracy, the police system and the clergy with a sure, deft touch.”
—Cara Black, New York Times

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top