Nine Months

Ebook $15.00

Soho Press | Aug 21, 2012 | 272 Pages | 6 x 9 | ISBN 9781616951474

  • Paperback$15.00

    Soho Press | Aug 21, 2012 | 5-1/2 x 8-1/4 | ISBN 9781616951467

  • Ebook$15.00

    Soho Press | Aug 21, 2012 | 272 Pages | 6 x 9 | ISBN 9781616951474

Praise

“Deliciously, dangerously rogue.”
Marcy Dermansky, author of Bad Marie

“A raw, darkly funny, at times appalling page-turner…. Mommy lit lovers will be horrified, but Bomer’s debut novel will resonate with fans of quirky, character-driven fiction in the vein of Richard Russo, John Updike, and Tiffany Baker.”
—Library Journal

“Phenomenal comedic pace.”
—The Atlantic

“This novel may make you feel uncomfortable at times, but it will also make you laugh and think about the difficult task of parenting and the choices we make.”
—The Pittsburg Post-Gazette

“This is a brave and provocative book about the insidious power of PC. That’s Parental Correctness not Political Correctness…[Bomer’s] wounding analysis of herself and the vicious new mummy tribes she introduces us to make this book an instant classic.”
—The Guardian

“This is the road trip novel I’ve always wanted to read…Sonia’s observations are priceless…After reading this powerful, entertaining novel, and Bomer’s excellent collection of stories, I’m convinced. Anything she writes, I want it.”
PANK

“Bomer’s feisty prose style and fluid storytelling are very, very good. They have the marks of truth: pith and passion.”
The Brooklyn Rail

“Paul Bomer’s Nine Months is a daring look at motherhood, exploring the thoughts most women keep secret. A page-turner that will tie your stomach in knots and stir up one hell of a debate.”
Susan Henderson, Up From the Blue

“Realistic, darkly funny, and thoroughly engaging . . . a needed flipside to books and mommy blogs that depict motherhood as solely a state of bliss and whimsy.”
BUST Magazine

Bomer could have titled this work What to REALLY Expect When You’re Expecting as there is more raw, honest truth in this novel than any parenting book I’ve ever read.”
—Jessica Anya Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home 

“Paula Bomer has written a dark, honest and powerful novel in Nine Months, one that constantly surprises the reader as the layers of emotion are peeled off, one after another, revealing the depth and need of the human experience.”
—The Nervous Breakdown

Nine Months is the best book I have read about the secret fears and sinister underbelly of becoming a parent, a satire which should be viewed not only as a stellar novel, but as a challenge to a literary scene mired in laziness, backslapping and lousy cliches.”
Tony O’Neill, author of Sick City

“Bomer takes [Mommy Culture] head-on, in blunt, brave writing…articulate, searing, and blastingly funny on pregnancy and childbirth…not for the fainthearted, they would make excellent reading in high school sex education courses.”
PopMatters

“Confronting, seditious and original.”
Bookd Out

 

Praise for Bomer’s collection Baby & Other Stories

“Reading Baby & Other Stories is like being attacked by a rabid dog—and feeling grateful for it. This is some of the rawest and most urgent writing I can remember encountering.”

Jonathan Franzen, author of The Corrections

“Dysfunctional doesn’t begin to describe the marriages in this brilliant, brutally raw debut collection.”
O Magazine

“In 10 raw and angry stories, Bomer flays the idea of happy little families…. This lacerating take on marriage and motherhood is not one to share with the Mommy and Me group.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“If Bomer’s harsh portrayal of modern parenting and marriage were water, it would be transparent, unflecked, jagged ice…. She lands firmly between Mary Gaitskill’s articulate, unflinching anhedonia and Kathy Acker…. Amy Hempel with a twist of Grace Paley. Baby is punk rock for the roundly domesticated.”
Bookforum

“Words like ‘tough’ and ‘honest’ don’t quite do justice to the fiction of Paula Bomer. The real housewives of Bomerworld break themselves and break your heart and yet never completely lose their soulful dignity.”
Sam Lipsyte, author of The Ask

Also by Paula Bomer

Related Articles

Beaks & Geeks
Back to Top