Paperback $14.95

Soho Crime | Apr 01, 2014 | 304 Pages | 5 x 7-1/2 | ISBN 9781616953645

  • Paperback$14.95

    Soho Crime | Apr 01, 2014 | 304 Pages | 5 x 7-1/2 | ISBN 9781616953645

  • Hardcover$25.95

    Soho Crime | Apr 16, 2013 | 320 Pages | 6 x 9 | ISBN 9781616952211

  • Ebook$14.95

    Soho Crime | Apr 16, 2013 | 320 Pages | ISBN 9781616952242

Praise

Praise for Pale Horses

“[Jade de Jong] is tough as nails and persistent, despite the fact that every clue leads to a dark and twisted place…. Pale Horses is sure to appeal to fans of Liza Marklund, Zoe Sharp, and Mackenzie’s fellow South African crime writer Deon Meyer.”
—Booklist, STARRED Review

“Gripping…. The novel hurtles toward a devastating climax.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Mackenzie’s shrewd plotting is enlivened by her sharp eye for both Johannesburg’s high life and its desperate poverty.”
—The Seattle Times

“A terrifying ride into a world of corporate greed, potential terrorism and the ways that South Africa’s future still resonates with its brutal past …. Mackenzie, who writes with chilly fervor, plunges the reader into a nightmare world that nonetheless offers the possibility of redemption.”
—Richmond Times Dispatch

Pale Horses is top notch crime fiction at its best…. A Terrific adventure with intrigue and a beautifully plotted mystery.”
—Crimespree Magazine

“Stands up well to a comparison with the better known books of Deon Meyer…an excellent addition to the ever expanding sub genre of South African crime fiction.”
—Crimescraps

“Jade de Jong is one tough lady, one of the most fascinating protagonists around. She is flawed, emotionally fragile, yet tough as nails…. Like the previous books, [Pale Horses] is full of colorful, well-drawn characters, colorful details of life in South Africa, and is a thumping great story.”
—Over my Dead Body

“A solid thriller…. South Africa becomes a silent character that somehow speaks volumes about itself through the author’s description.”
—Out of the Gutter

Praise for the Jade de Jong series
 
“A white-knuckle thriller with an utterly chilling finale.”
Tess Gerritsen, author of the Rizzoli & Isles series
 
“Jade de Jong is a heroine to cherish: tough, passionate, and packed with enough flaws to keep her interesting.”
Sophie Littlefield, author of A Bad Day for Sorry
 
“Remarkable.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Enticing…. With mysteries being such a male-dominated genre, Mackenzie’s series, and main character, is a welcome breath of fresh air.”
The Examiner


From the Hardcover edition.

Related Articles

Beaks & Geeks
Back to Top