The Wishing Thread

Paperback $15.00

Ballantine Books | Aug 27, 2013 | 400 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780345538550

  • Paperback$15.00

    Ballantine Books | Aug 27, 2013 | 400 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780345538550

  • Ebook$11.99

    Ballantine Books | Aug 27, 2013 | 400 Pages | ISBN 9780345537829

Praise

“Reader to reader, knitter to knitter: You’re going to love this book.”—Debbie Macomber
 
“With deft needlework, a dash of folklore, and some good old-fashioned family angst, Lisa Van Allen knits together the threads of second chances, the pleasure of giving, the complications of sisterhood, and love. There’s a bit of magic in The Wishing Thread, in the words and the story as well as in the yarn.”—Meg Waite Clayton, author of The Wednesday Sisters
 
“Rich in myth and mystery, The Wishing Thread explores the tangle that is being a woman—from family and friendship to romance and community. Prepare to be ensnared, enthralled, enchanted!”USA Today bestselling author Christie Ridgway
 
The Wishing Thread is a lyrical, emotional, finely knit portrayal of three sisters struggling with love, magic and sacrifice. This is the best book I’ve read all year.”—Lisa Verge Higgins, author of The Proper Care and Maintenance of Friendship
 
“An intriguing story of three sisters tied by blood and a strange inheritance, each searching for a way to belong in that place where magic and life intersect. Wonderful!”—Shelley Noble, author of Beach Colors

“Van Allen knits together this pleasantly entertaining tale as easily as the Van Ripper women knit together the often unraveling threads of people’s lives. . . . Chick-lit cozy meets magical realism with inevitably warm and fuzzy results.”Booklist
 
“Great for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Alice Hoffman; you know it’s whimsical when you learn that debut author Allen owns a pet hedgehog.”Library Journal
 
“Fans of magical realism will want to pick up this enjoyable novel, which not only weaves magic through stitchery, but also weaves a realistic story about family and sisterhood and the threads that pull us back home.”RT Book Reviews

Related Articles

Biographile.com
Back to Top