The Night Strangers

Paperback $15.00

Broadway Books | Apr 24, 2012 | 416 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780307395009

  • Paperback$15.00

    Broadway Books | Apr 24, 2012 | 416 Pages | 5-3/16 x 8 | ISBN 9780307395009

  • Ebook$11.99

    Broadway Books | Oct 04, 2011 | 400 Pages | ISBN 9780307888860

  • Audiobook Download$22.50

    Random House Audio | Oct 04, 2011 | 840 Minutes | ISBN 9780307940780

Praise

“Riveting. . .seamless. . .a hell of a good ghost story.”—Justin Cronin, author of The Passage

“The Night Strangers boasts all the trappings of a classic Gothic horror story, reminiscent in places of the spousal secrets in Nathaniel Hawthorne’s ‘Young Goodman Brown,’ the thrills of ‘Rosemary’s Baby,’ and the psychological frights of Daphne du Maurier. . .A perfect book for Halloween. . .That thump thump you hear as you read is only your heart leaping from your chest.”—Keith Donohue, Washington Post

“Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale. . .A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over.”—Family Circle

“After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won’t leave them alone. Good ‘n’ spooky.”Good Housekeeping

“Put a haunted man in a haunted house. . .and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it’s more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand.”—Yankee Magazine

“A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel.”—Booklist, Starred Review

“Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold’s The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood’s Cat’s Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here.”—Library Journal, Starred Review 
 
“Compelling. . .a practical magick horror story.”—Kirkus Reviews

“A gripping paranormal thriller. . .Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride.”—Publishers Weekly

“A delicious and haunting tale. . .Bohjalian is a terrific writer and parsimonious in the way he issues information, slowly building an increasing sense of dread and excitement.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune

“You will close the book’s covers totally satisfied, aware that this masterful storyteller has done it again.”—Seattle Times

“Bohjalian uses a clean-edged pen to dice, toss, and serve a gasp-inducing plot that is ghost story-meets psychological thriller. . .The book has a spellbinding clutch. A mélange of horror, thrill, drama, sex, and gore—juxtaposed against the quiet and solitude of a small New England town—it will test your courage and resolve. . .[It] will invade your world.”—Armenian Weekly

“A spellbinding, heart-pounding novel. . .this is one perfect book for Halloween.”—Book Page

“Masterfully crafted. . .a suspense-filled ghost story set in rural New Hampshire. . .This is a great read filled with real-life characters, an intricate story line and just enough ‘spooky.'”—Grand Rapids Press

“Compelling. . .a ghost story in the tradition of such classics of the genre as ‘The Turn of the Screw’ and ‘The Haunting of Hill House.'”—Tulsa World

” This moody, atmospheric story chills the bones and doesn’t let up until the last brutal page. It is a creepy gothic mystery just right for Halloween.”—Parkersburg News & Sentinel
 
“Echoes of Rosemary’s Baby and The Shining. . .Read if you dare, but keep an extra light on, and make sure your seat is in the full upright and locked position.”—USA Today
 



From the Hardcover edition.

Wordandfilm.com
Back to Top