Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen

Evil Librarian

  • Paperback $8.99

    Sep 13, 2016 | 352 Pages | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $16.99

    Sep 09, 2014 | 352 Pages | Young Adult

Product Details

Praise

It’s all terrifically entertaining from start to finish, with Cyn’s wry voice narrating her transformation from musical theater–loving, crush-having teen to musical theater–loving, crush-having teen who can also kick some demon butt. The plot is particularly well done here, with several encounters with Mr. Gabriel and other demons providing moments of both horror and humor and eventually culminating in the final demon/human battle.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

[A] self-aware supernatural dramedy… The writing is clever, the tone wry, and the stakes high, with surprises that keep the plot unpredictable. Cyn’s internal monologue provides plenty of amusement, especially when her hormones threaten to overpower her common sense. It’s an entertaining tale with room for future installments.
—Publishers Weekly

Snappily narrated, tightly plotted and generally just right. Forget paranormal romance; this horror-humor-romance pastiche is where those in search of hot nonhumans should set their sights.
—Kirkus Reviews

Hysterical! Smart and funny, with a little drama, a little romance, and just the right touch of evil.
—Stephenie Meyer, author of the bestselling Twilight Saga

There’s plenty to like here: a budding will-they-won’t-they romance, demonic possession, musical theater references, and more. Knudsen keeps the terror well-tempered with plenty of hilarious situational comedy and touches of the absurd.
—Booklist Online

If Louise Rennison and Christopher Moore had a bibliographic love child it would be this cheekily narrated supernatural offering. … [Cyn’s] narrative voice and the novel’s dialogue make it worth the read. Occasional swearing, a dash of romance, and plenty of laugh-out-loud moments round out Knudsen’s enjoyable comedic tale, reminiscent of the original “Buffy” film.
—School Library Journal

Smart, problem-solving, and loyal, [Cyn] makes an engaging heroine… The first-person narration ranges from self-deprecating wit to breathless, punctuation-free anxiety during suspenseful moments, emphasizing Cyn’s terror—and her determination to save those she loves despite her fear. An excellent choice for fans of Cynthia Leitich Smith’s Tantalize series or Larbalestier and Brennan’s Team Human.
—Horn Book

Knudsen’s snarky wit portrays the high school atmosphere to a T, and it is suspenseful enough to keep readers up late turning the pages.
—St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top