Berlin 1961

Paperback $17.00

Jan 03, 2012 | 640 Pages

Ebook $12.99

May 10, 2011 | 608 Pages

  • Paperback $17.00

    Jan 03, 2012 | 640 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    May 10, 2011 | 608 Pages

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House


"Berlin 1961 is a gripping, well-researched, and thought- provoking book with many lessons for today." — Dr. Henry Kissinger

"Good journalistic history in the tradition of William L. Shirer and Barbara Tuchman." — Kirkus Reviews

"Frederick Kempe’s compelling narrative, astute analysis, and meticulous research bring fresh insight into a crucial and perilous episode of the Cold War." — Strobe Talbott, President, Brookings Institution

"History at its best. Kempe’s book masterfully dissects the Cold War’s strategically most significant East-West confrontation, and in the process significantly enlightens our understanding of the complexity of the Cold War itself." — Dr. Zbigniew Brzezinski, National Security Advisor to President Jimmy Carter

"Berlin 1961 takes us to Ground Zero of the Cold War. Reading these pages, you feel as if you are standing at Checkpoint Charlie, amid the brutal tension of a divided Berlin." — David Ignatius, Columnist, The Washington Post

"Informed…His chronology of memos and meetings dramatizes events behind closed doors…Kempe’s history reflects balanced discernment about the creation of the Berlin Wall." — Booklist

"Kempe…skillfully weaves oral histories and newly declassified documents into a sweeping, exhaustive narrative…Likely the best, most richly detailed account of the subject, this will engross serious readers of Cold War history who enjoyed W.R. Smyser’s Kennedy and the Berlin Wall but appreciate further detail." — Library Journal

Product Details

Also by Frederick Kempe

Back to Top