Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Helsinki White by James Thompson

Helsinki White

Helsinki White by James Thompson
Paperback
Feb 05, 2013 | 368 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $15.00

    Feb 05, 2013 | 368 Pages

  • Ebook $1.99

    Mar 15, 2012 | 368 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“The narrative is exquisitely quick…hard to put down.”—Houston Chronicle

 
“Thompson’s style is on the dark end of the ‘Nordic Noir’ spectrum. The genre — with its stark and often violent police procedurals — has proved wildly successful…The marquee names have come from Sweden — think Stieg Larsson’s Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, or Henning Mankell’s Wallander series — but Norway’s Jo Nesbo and Iceland’s Arnaldur Indridason and Yrsa Sigurdardottir have also made their mark with international readers. Thompson stands out from that crowd by writing in English and telling Vaara’s gritty narrative in the first person. ”–The New York Times


“In his dozen years of living in Finland…Thompson has absorbed enough cold, dark atmosphere for a spot on the roster of top Nordic crime writers—Mankell, Nesbø, Indrioason and the like.”—The New York Post


“A must-read for fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell.”—Booklist
 

“The laconic voice of Inspector Kari Vaara is at the same time dangerous and human, his world cold, barren, yet intriguingly exotic.”—Peter Høeg, New York Times bestselling author of Smilla’s Sense of Snow

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top