Browse through these chilling novels
14 Visions of a Dystopian America, from Orwell to Atwood
View the List
Get the news you want from Penguin Random House

Author Essay

Dear Reader,

I can hardly believe I’m writing this. Falling Light, the conclusion to the Game of Shadows novels, is my newest release, and it’s been a long, wonderful journey to completion.

I wrote the first incarnation of these stories when I was in graduate school. After taking several mythology, philosophy and religious studies courses, I had so many wonderful ideas, I couldn’t wait to work on a project that would pull them all together.

So I asked myself a series of questions.

Angels exist in more than one religion, but those are human stories. What if the creatures we call angels really existed? What would they really be like? Who would they be, and how would they act throughout history? How would they impact humanity, and how would our stories tell theirs?

The Game of Shadows novels, Rising Darkness and Falling Light, tells their story, which has been hidden behind all of our myths and legends.

Long ago, eight strange, alien creatures came to earth, and four have survived. Michael, the warrior, Mary, the healer, Astra, the elder, and the Deceiver—the criminal. Eternally mated and cosmically balanced, they have battled each other throughout millenia and now their war comes to a close.

Thank you so much, dear readers, for your interest in my stories. I look forward to each one I write and am eager to share them with you, so we can take the journeys of imagination together.

Happy reading!


Product Details

Also by Thea Harrison

Back to Top