Pernelle’s Escape

Best Seller
Pernelle's Escape by Judith Rock
Ebook $2.99

Sep 04, 2012 | 68 Pages

  • Ebook $2.99

    Sep 04, 2012 | 68 Pages

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House


Praise for The Rhetoric of Death

2011 Barry Award nominee for Best Paperback original

One of Deadly Pleasures magazine’s Best Books of 2010

“[Judith] Rock takes you back to fascinating and dangerous seventeenth-century Paris so well that I suspect her of being a time-traveler who’s been there.”—Ariana Franklin, national bestselling author of A Murderous Procession

“Rich with telling detail and a deep feeling for time and place.”—Margaret Frazer, national bestselling author of The Apostate’s Tale

“Highly recommended for fans of historical thrillers and readers who enjoy Ellis Peters, Edward Marston, and Ariana Franklin.”—Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for The Eloquence of Death

"Every bit the equal of her impressive historical thriller debut, The Rhetoric of Death. … Readers will hope this energetic and engrossing sequel will be the first of many."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Rock’s historical accuracy resonates here, transporting you to 1686 Paris. Her intriguing plot and protagonists with whom readers are becoming good friends make this a necessary read for all who enjoy historical mysteries, especially those by Ariana Franklin.”—Library Journal (starred review)

"Rock provides meticulous details of everyday life across various social classes with an engaging style…touches of humor and insight … This is the second mystery featuring du Luc, the first being The Rhetoric of Death. It isn’t necessary to have read the first to find oneself quickly pulled into du Luc’s world, however, as Rock skillfully weaves information throughout that hints at the first book and du Luc’s past. In du Luc, Rock has created a highly likeable scholar-detective. I hope that his adventures will play out for many books to come."—L.K. Mason, Historical Novels Review

“[Rock] captures a city and time that is lively, dangerous and politically charged, and makes it sing.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Product Details

Also by Judith Rock

Back to Top