Celebrate Women's History Month
Get inspired and get informed
Read the list here
  • Paperback $10.99

    Mar 08, 2016 | 384 Pages | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $17.99

    Oct 09, 2014 | 384 Pages | Young Adult

  • Ebook $9.99

    Oct 09, 2014 | 384 Pages | Young Adult

  • CD $55.00

    Oct 09, 2014 | 660 Minutes | Young Adult

  • Audiobook Download $27.50

    Oct 09, 2014 | 674 Minutes | Young Adult

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Get news about books and more from Penguin Random House

Praise

Praise for Althea & Oliver:
 
“The bittersweet romance, Oliver’s battle with his illness, and Althea’s coming-of-age struggle should appeal to fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen who are looking for something new.” —VOYA
 
“Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park will enjoy debut author Cristina Moracho’s trip back to the 1990s in Althea and Oliver.” —CNN.com
 
“A gut-wrenching tale.” —People
 
“Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood.” —Booklist, starred review

“It is the exquisitely created and painfully real, pitch-perfect characters who make it so memorable.” —SLJ, starred review

“At turns gritty and gooey, Oliver and Althea’s evolving relationship unfolds in a warts-and-all narration that alternates between the two, deftly capturing the purgatorial crossroads between youth and adulthood . . . Mesmerizing.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Can boys and girls really be just friends? This endearing novel explores that, and a whole lot of other things including but not limited to: falling in love, punk rock, circa-’90s NYC, and a very complicated sleep disorder that causes those afflicted to fall asleep for days, weeks, even months at a time.” —TeenVogue.com

“A gorgeous, glorious, unforgettable novel about punk rock, bad decisions, falling in love, and the messy beauty of growing up. Althea and Oliver is a flawlessly-crafted straight shot to the heart.” —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs
 
“Marrying dazzling prose and sharp-eyed realism, Althea & Oliver is a gritty, sparkling triumph. It’s everything a novel is meant to be.” —Bennett Madison, author of September Girls

“With beautiful language and wrenching, complicated relationship dynamics, Althea & Oliver captures the painful state of longing that is adolescence perfectly.” —Corey Ann Haydu, author of OCD Love Story

It’s very rare to come across either a book or two young protagonists as appealing and insightful as Althea & Oliver. Big-hearted and wiseassed and penetratingly smart, they experience growing up as a time machine that’s whisked them into a future they don’t want, even as they’re dying to know what’s out there.” —Jim Shepard, author of Project X and You Think That’s Bad

“I can’t wait to tell people about this one. It’s mind-blowingly good.” —Molly Templeton, WORD Books
 
“Even if the book weren’t eloquent and hilarious, it’d be a must-read for all children of the ’90s. But thankfully, it is, and if you’re smart, you’ll run out and grab a copy.”  —Bustle

“Go buy this book! Read it now!” —Hello Giggles

A TIME Magazine Top 10 YA of 2014 
An SLJ Best Books of the Year
Booklist Editor’s Choice 2014
A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014
One of TeenVogue.com’s Best YA Books You Should Read This Fall
One of CNN.com’s 40 New Titles to Feed Your YA Book Addiction

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Debut Spring Sampler Now
Back to Top