A Play of Shadow

Mass Market Paperback $8.99

Nov 03, 2015 | 592 Pages

Paperback $20.00

Nov 04, 2014 | 608 Pages

Ebook $8.99

Nov 04, 2014 | 608 Pages

  • Ebook $8.99

    Nov 04, 2014 | 608 Pages

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House


“An enchanting and gentle fable, rich with detail and characters you will love.” — Charles de Lint

A warm and intricate fantasy opus with large themes woven into a charming story.” — Charlaine Harris

“Science fiction author Czerneda will charm fantasy readers with multidimensional characters, a vivid setting, and powerful themes of hope and renewal.” — Publishers Weekly

“Known for her powerful and insightful sf novels, Czerneda brings the same exacting sensibility to her brilliant fantasy debut. Her characters are both charming and believable, and Jenn, her friend Wisp, and the soldier Bannan stand out as memorable and utterly real…. Fans of L.E. Modesitt Jr. and Charles de Lint will love this fantastic and magical fable.” — Library Journal

“I was captivated by Julie Czerneda’s A Turn of Light. Yep, she used her writerly powers and sucked me right in. Many fantasy novels out there are about magic. Few, like Julie’s, embody it.” — Kristen Britain (for A Turn of Light)

“Luminous and beguiling. With Marrowdell and its enchanting inhabitants, Julie Czerneda has conjured a world that readers can sink into and disappear. I lost myself to this tale that is, by turns, lovely, lyrical, and thrilling. This book is a feast for the mind and the heart.” — Lesley Livingston

“A Turn of Light is a gorgeous creation. Julie Czerneda’s world and characters are richly layered and wonderful—full of mystery, hope and, most of all, heart. Come spend some time in Marrowdell. It’s worth the journey. And be polite to the toads.” — Anne Bishop (for A Turn of Light)

Product Details

Back to Top