Celebrate Women's History Month
Get inspired and get informed
Read the list here
Paperback $16.00

Jun 03, 2014 | 384 Pages

Ebook $10.99

Jun 03, 2014 | 384 Pages

  • Paperback $16.00

    Jun 03, 2014 | 384 Pages

  • Ebook $10.99

    Jun 03, 2014 | 384 Pages

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House

Praise

Praise for The Beautiful American

“Mackin’s ability to re-create history and to create believable characters and situations makes her new work a transfixing story that is hard to put down. Sure to be loved by fans of Mackin and of the historical novel; very highly recommended.”–Library Journal 

“Readers will rank [it] right up there with The Paris Wife…. A brilliant, beautifully written literary masterpiece…”–New York Times bestselling author Sandra Dallas

“Will transport you to expat Paris… and from there take you on a journey through the complexities of a friendship…breathes new life into such luminaries as Man Ray, Picasso, and, of course, the titular character, Lee Miller, while at the same time offering up a wonderfully human and sympathetic protagonist in Nora Tours.”–Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist

“Leaves its essence of love, loss, regret, and hope long after the novel concludes.”–Erika Robuck, author of Fallen Beauty

“Achingly beautiful and utterly mesmerizing… Sure to appeal to fans of Paula McLain’s The Paris Wife and Erika Robuck’s Call Me Zelda, or indeed to anyone with a taste for impeccably researched and beautifully written historical fiction.”– Jennifer Robson, author of Somewhere in France

“An engaging and unforgettable novel. I couldn’t put it down.”–Renee Rosen, author of Dollface

“An exquisitely imagined and beautifully rendered story of the talented, tragic, gorgeous Lee Miller.”–Becky E. Conekin, author of Lee Miller in Fashion

“Beautiful…A fascinating account of a little-known woman who was determined to play by her own rules.”–Historical Novel Society

“Lovers of the film A Midnight in Paris will definitely enjoy this.”–Chick Lit Plus

“[An] exquisitely depicted story of love, betrayal, forgiveness.”–Crystal Book Reviews

“An engrossing novel…Compulsively readable.”–BookNAround

Product Details

Also by Jeanne Mackin

Back to Top