Paperback $11.99

Feb 09, 2016 | 480 Pages | Young Adult

Hardcover $19.95

Apr 28, 2015 | 464 Pages | Young Adult

Ebook $9.99

Apr 28, 2015 | 464 Pages | Young Adult

  • Paperback $11.99

    Feb 09, 2016 | 480 Pages | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $19.95

    Apr 28, 2015 | 464 Pages | Young Adult

  • Ebook $9.99

    Apr 28, 2015 | 464 Pages | Young Adult

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House


Named one of the best books of the year by:
Barnes & Noble
The Wall Street Journal
LA Weekly
Paste Magazine
Suspense Magazine
The New York Public Library


“This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human—and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” —The Washington Post

“[An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makes Ember a worthy novel—and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy.” —Us Weekly

An Ember in the Ashes mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones…and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet.” The Hollywood Reporter

Blew me away…This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic—expect to be completely transported.” —

“Fast-paced, well-structured and full of twists and turnsAn Ember in the Ashes is an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next.” —NPR
“Once you get caught up in the story, it’s addictive, and there’s no way you can put it down before you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn’t.” —Bustle 
One thing I can say for sure: this is a page-turner. There comes a moment when it’s impossible to put it down. Sabaa Tahir is a strong writer, but most of all, she’s a great storyteller.” —The Huffington Post

This epic fantasy set in the Martial Empire has it all: danger and violence, secrets and lies, strong characters and forbidden romance and a touch of the supernatural.” —The Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

“A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateursAn Ember in the Ashes is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.” —

“Be prepared to be blown away by this fantasy-thriller-adventure.” —Girls’ Life

An Ember in the Ashes is a book that’s too good to put down.” —RedEye
Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas’s Throne of Glass series…The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!” —

“Tahir’s deft, polished debut alternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. In a tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Tahir’s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized….For fans of Game of Thrones and of Melina Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock.” —School Library Journal
“An original, well-constructed fantasy world…truly engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews 
“An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.” —

“First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope.” —Booklist 
“Here’s one of the year’s most anticipated young-adult debuts.” —

I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn’t convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes, I don’t know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world’s ready for Sabaa Tahir.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of Legend
“With An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson
An Ember in the Ashes is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they’d go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones.”—Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s
A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I’ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down.” —Margaret Stohl, New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures
“This electric debut is a pulse-pounding action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you’ll root for and won’t stop thinking about.” —Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of Frozen and The Ring and the Crown

From the Hardcover edition.

Video & Media

Author Sabaa Tahir talks inspiration and procrastination | authorcuts

Author Sabaa Tahir talks inspiration and procrastination | authorcuts

AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir | Judge a Book

A regal Roman outfit inspired by Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES | Fiction to Fashion

Sabaa Tahir (author of An Ember in the Ashes) at San Diego Comic Con 2014

Product Details

Also by Sabaa Tahir

Back to Top