Browse through these chilling novels
14 Visions of a Dystopian America, from Orwell to Atwood
View the List

The Brain Defense

Hardcover $28.00

Feb 28, 2017 | 336 Pages

Ebook $14.99

Feb 28, 2017 | 336 Pages

Audiobook Download $20.00

Feb 28, 2017 | 568 Minutes

  • Hardcover $28.00

    Feb 28, 2017 | 336 Pages

  • Ebook $14.99

    Feb 28, 2017 | 336 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Get the news you want from Penguin Random House

Praise

“Fascinating. . . . Perfect for fans of Antonio Damasio’s Descartes’ Error.”—Library Journal

“Davis engagingly explores how sophisticated brain studies might help explain the causes of violent crimes. . . . A thoroughly researched, clearly presented book.”—Kirkus (starred review)

The Brain Defense is the best kind of nonfiction: It tells you what you need to know, not merely what you want to know. Kevin Davis delivers a riveting journey down an important new corridor in the American courthouse. An important book.”Michael Connelly
 
“A brave and thoughtful exploration of an intractable problem: What role, if any, should neuroscience play in the courtroom? Kevin Davis’s informative book will contribute significantly to the national dialogue on this controversial issue.”—Antonio Damasio
 
The Brain Defense is a stirring ride into a fascinating new field. Can a tumor or traumatic brain injury explain rape or murder? Can they diminish culpability? If your instinct screams no, read page one. The first staggering case will challenge your assumptions; the book that follows may alter them permanently. The vividness and urgency of Kevin Davis’s storytelling, along with his artful touch, draw you in from the first line and never let you go.”Dave Cullen

Product Details

Also by Kevin Davis

Back to Top