Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Black Rabbit Hall

  • Paperback $16.00

    Jul 04, 2017 | 416 Pages

  • Hardcover $27.00

    Feb 09, 2016 | 384 Pages

  • Ebook $13.99

    Feb 09, 2016 | 384 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Get news about books and more from Penguin Random House

Praise

For fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier, Black Rabbit Hall is an obvious must-read, but it is sure to please any reader who delights in devilishly thrilling dramas. . . . There is a dreamy quality to the writing that gives the novel the tenor of a Gothic fairy tale, and although there is a sense of malice and danger that thrums beneath it all, Chase’s achingly beautiful investigation of her characters’ inner lives results in a story that is haunting rather than scary.” BookPage
 
“Like the setting of Robert Frost’s Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening, Chase’s novel is lovely, dark and deep. But if you start it after sunset, you’ll likely have hours to go before you sleep. And when you awake, you might find that you have dreamed of Black Rabbit Hall again.” — Richmond Times-Dispatch
 
“A house, not a person, is the star of Chase’s debut novel—an ivy-covered country estate in Cornwall.” New York Post, “Required Reading”

“If Daphne Du Maurier and Ruth Rendell in Barbara Vine mode had been able to collaborate, they might have come up with something like Black Rabbit Hall:Rebecca meets A Fatal Inversion. A remarkable debut from an exceptionally talented and accomplished author.” –John Harwood, author of The Ghost Writer 

“A twisting gothic of family secrets, forbidden lust, and an extraordinary family. . . Eve Chase kept me up.” –Miranda Beverly-Whittemore, New York Times bestselling author of Bittersweet

“Equal parts romance, mystery, and historical fiction. For readers who are interested in complex period drama such as Daisy Goodwin’s The American Heiress, or who enjoy a touch of the gothic such as in Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca or Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale.” Library Journal (starred review)

“A gorgeously written novel describing the love and affection that hold families together and the powerful forces that can tear them apart.” – Huffington Post

“Chase deserves high marks for her atmospheric setting and vivid prose, and fans of old-fashioned gothic stories will find this a winner.” – Publishers Weekly

“The highly atmospheric setting immerses the reader in rainy, muddy Cornwall as the narrative uncurls in front of the fireplace. . . . Fans of Carla Buckley and Lucie Whitehouse will enjoy this thrilling story of crumbling walls, forbidden love, and family sacrifice.” — Booklist

“A tapestry embroidered with madness, a horrifying accident, and malicious lies. Compellingly readable and riddled with twists and turns worthy of Daphne du Maurier, Chase’s tale will delight fans of romantic mysteries.” –Kirkus Reviews 

“It’s beautifully, poetically written and reminiscent of everything from I Capture The Castle to Hansel And Gretel. Eve Chase is a name to watch.” – Daily Mail (UK)

“A deliciously intriguing novel whose rich sense of time and place bear more than a few echoes of du Maurier’s best.”—Alex Marwood, Edgar Award-winning author of The Wicked Girls

“Eve Chase has created a stunning page turner.Black Rabbit Hall deserves a place among the very best in gothic fiction.”–Michelle Gable, bestselling author of A Paris Apartment

“A deliciously addicting gothic…You’ll love Black Rabbit Hall.“ — Wendy Webb, bestselling author of The Tale of Halcyon Crane

“An enthralling and deeply moving novel about family secrets, loss, and love…Chase is a wonderfully gifted storyteller.”—Margaret Leroy, author of The Soldier’s Wife

“The spellbinding, lusciously-written story of two families twined together across the span of time, trapped in limbo in a magical, sea-swept Cornwall house with secrets as deep as its Normandy roots.” —Carla Buckley, author of The Things That Keep Us Here

“A truly captivating novel set in gothic territory where clocks tell the wrong time and darkness lingers.” — Deborah Lawrenson, author of The Lantern and The Sea Garden

“Expertly crafted, dark, beautiful and utterly enthralling.” – Rowan Coleman, New York Times bestselling author of The Accidental Mother and The Day We Met

“With rich and darkly evocative prose, Eve Chase’s Black Rabbit Hall is a mesmerizing gothic tale of tragedy and romance that will leave you feeling wind-swept and exhilarated.” – Hester  Young, author of The Gates of Evangeline

Black Rabbit Hall completely swept me away, a glorious, beautifully written fairy tale for grownups. I absolutely loved it.” – Lisa Jewell, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Girls

“Atmospheric, with echoes of Du Maurier, this novel enchanted me.”  Woman & Home (UK)
 
“Perfect sunlounger fodder.”  Red (UK)
 
“A cracking pool-side saga.”  Good Housekeeping (UK)
 
“Apart from the occasional classic, I have rarely felt the urge to read a book twice. But the pull of Eve Chase’s Black Rabbit Hall was so strong that the moment I finished I immediately turned to a random page in the middle to relive its rich characters and suspense. A delight I want to experience again and again.” — Stylist (UK)
 
“A fast-paced story of secrets, betrayal and consequence… you’ll be gripped.” Essentials Magazine (UK)

“A seductive wonder of a novel; with echoes of Daphne Du Maurier and Dodie Smith, it pulls you irresistibly into its world where nothing is quite as it first appears.”— Elizabeth Fremantle, author of Queen’s Gambit and Sisters of Treason

“A stunning new writer has arrived–gripping and heartrending, this novel is full of original characters which don’t let you forget them.” – Katie Fforde, bestselling author of Life Skills
 
“A sheer delight. It has everything: a glorious setting, characters to fall in love with, secrets galore and enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until the very last page.  Wonderful.” — Veronica Henry, author of The Beach Hut Next Door

“I feel safe on the cliff ledge, safer than in the house anyway.’ From the ominous chords of the prologue, Black Rabbit Hall declares itself as (seemingly) vintage English Gothic, brewed from the finest traditional ingredients: a crumbling mansion hidden away in deepest Cornwall; the eccentric elderly owner and her downtrodden retainer clinging on in genteel penury as the house collapses around them; the innocent visitor whose arrival will awaken the buried past. Familiar territory, but the quality of the writing – spare, evocative, tuned to the inner lives of the characters – indicates that a rare treat is in store for us. When Lorna Dunaway insists upon choosing the Hall for her wedding despite a near-collision with a deer, a taciturn farmer’s cryptic warning, and her fiancé’s misgivings, one senses the presence of an author who relishes the challenge of exploiting such well-worn omens, and who delights in playing upon her reader’s expectations. The two principal characters, Lorna in the present and fifteen-year-old Amber Alton in 1969, are so vividly imagined that one is both compelled and afraid to read on, which is surely the hallmark of the finest suspense fiction. It’s plain from the start that even the smallest detail may be a vital clue: there are deaths foretold, twists we’re meant to anticipate, sinister portents in abundance. Black Rabbit Hall combines elements of romance, mystery, crime, horror, and the ghost story in a way that further heightens the suspense because, until very late in the book, you don’t know what you might meet in the labyrinth of the Hall. I found myself thinking, as the two stories inexorably converged, that if Daphne Du Maurier and Ruth Rendell in Barbara Vine mode had been able to collaborate, they might have come up with something like Black Rabbit Hall: Rebecca meets A Fatal Inversion, so to speak. But Eve Chase is very much her own novelist, as fascinated by the varieties of love and affection as by the forces that can tear a family apart, and the resolution is both unexpected and convincing. Black Rabbit Hall is a remarkable debut from an exceptionally talented and accomplished author.” —John Harwood, author of The Ghost Writer and The Séance 

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top