Celebrate Women's History Month
Get inspired and get informed
Read the list here
  • Paperback $16.00

    Mar 14, 2017 | 400 Pages

  • Hardcover $27.00

    Feb 23, 2016 | 400 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    Feb 23, 2016 | 400 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Get news about books and more from Penguin Random House

Praise

“Icy landscapes, mysterious clues, a messed up heroine . . . Nordic noir at its delicious best.”
Sarah Hilary, author of Someone Else’s Skin
 
“Tense and smartly constructed.”
The Wall Street Journal

“harrowing and enthralling”
Publisher’s Weekly
 
“Nordic writers seem to reach a colder, darker place in their crime fiction than most other writers do, and Bjørk…exemplifies this in his American debut. A suspenseful, skillfully wrought thriller with the potential for a sequel, this is a thoroughly chilling and an excellent read-alike for Jo Nesbø fans.”
Booklist, Starred Review

“Children stolen and dressed like dolls before they’re murdered bring suicidal detective Mia Kruger out of hiding and back to police work in Bjørk’s complicated, yet compelling, tale…good solid reading. Bjørk constructs a plot like a jigsaw puzzle with many pieces, and somehow it all works.”
—Kirkus Reviews
 
“A breath of fresh air in the crowded Scandinavian crime genre, this suspenseful novel…will hook readers early and keep them on the edge of their seat until the final pages. Fans of Jo Nesbø are sure to enjoy the flawed yet likable characters.”
—Library Journal, Starred Review
  
“Samuel Bjork’s formidable I’M TRAVELING ALONE is despatched with real élan . . . Mia’s confrontation with both her own demons and a very human one is mesmerising fare.”
—Independent (UK)

“If this is a debut novel, it is something of a literary sensation. Even writers with long experience are rarely able to compose their plots with such elegance and in a language so completely free of clichés as Bjørk does. . . . With his first book about investigators Mia Krüger and Holger Munch, Bjørk has already qualified himself into the mystery writers’ elite division. Watch out, Jo Nesbø!”
Bergens Tidende (Norway) 

“An incredibly suspenseful crime novel that captures you from the start.”
Plusbog.dk (Denmark)



From the Hardcover edition.

Back to Top