Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Don’t miss these
40 books to read before you turn 40
See the List
Best Seller
Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice by Robert W. Firestone

Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice

Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice by Robert W. Firestone
Paperback
Dec 06, 2016 | 240 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Paperback $18.00

    Dec 06, 2016 | 240 Pages

  • Ebook $11.99

    Dec 06, 2016 | 240 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“Poignant and profound. Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice presents case studies by Robert W. Firestone. His work has always been, and remains, at the cutting edge of theory and clinical practice. A joy to read—for clinicians, researchers, and people interested in fostering personal growth and social progress.”

—Sheldon Solomon, professor of psychology, Skidmore College, and coauthor of The Worm at the Core: On the Role of Death in Life

“Unearthing the origins of one’s inner critic is the premise of psychologist Firestone’s compilation of illustrative real-life therapy sessions. The author believes unexpressed emotions often lie at the root of physical and mental discomfort, and unearthing these causes is at the center of his approach. Rounding off these 11 personal accounts is an appendix that plainly illustrates the how-tos of voice therapy, making it clear that anyone can practice it with or without a therapist. . . . Professionals in the field of psychology will find the book repays the reading time with plenty of insight.” 

Publishers Weekly
 
“A very special book that is destined to join the seminal books of psychotherapy. Overcoming the Destructive Inner Voice is written in the tradition of Yalom’s Love’s Executioner and Whitaker and Napier’s The Family Crucible. This book is both a literary and a psychological treasure. The eleven touching and beautiful stories perform a type of narrative therapy for the reader. Dr. Firestone increases the reader’s self-awareness just like he does in his real-life voice-therapy sessions. Readers will feel as if they are in the room as the highlights of the therapy process unfold, and they will learn how internalized voices guide an individual’s feelings and actions in life. This is a book that you will read over and over. A must-read for therapists and all others who want to know about how to change and grow through talk therapy.”

—Jon Carlson, PsyD, EdD, ABPP, Distinguished Professor, Adler University, Chicago
 
“This book is a wonderful surprise. It is so well-written and informative. We learn a bit about Dr. Firestone’s life and quite a bit about his work. The stories about his clients were fascinating.”
 
—Violet Oaklander, PhD, author of Windows to Our Children
 
“Firestone takes us on a journey to discover who we are and why we sometimes hurt ourselves emotionally. . . . Each case will touch the reader intellectually and emotionally, and will reveal that Dr. Firestone understands the human condition and, more important, how to make it better. This book is a must-read not only for students training to be psychotherapists but also for anyone wanting to learn more about what it means to be totally human.”

—Stephen Nowicki, PhD, ABPP, Candler Professor of Psychology, Emeritus, Emory University, and author of Choice or Chance: Understanding Your Locus of Control and Why It Matters
 
 

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top