Mass Market Paperback $6.99

Oct 10, 2000 | 224 Pages | Young Adult

Ebook $6.99

Apr 13, 2011 | 224 Pages | Young Adult

  • Ebook $6.99

    Apr 13, 2011 | 224 Pages | Young Adult


ALA Best Books for Young Adults WINNER 2000

Texas Lonestar Reading List WINNER 2001


A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
An ALA Quick Pick
An ALA Best Book for Young Adults
A Booklist Editor’s Choice
A Booklist Top Ten Historical Fiction Pick

[STAR] “[Anna of Byzantium] involves readers in a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries worthy of a place among the tragic myths.” — The Bulletin, Starred review

In the tradition of E. L. Konigsburg’s A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver and Karen Cushman’s Catherine, Called Birdy comes this story of a real-life historical figure, Anna Commena, groomed to be the sovereign of the Byzantine empire…Barrett uses an effective first-person narrative to draw readers into Anna’s story, and the author’s precise use of detail helps re-create Anna’s world, the palace of Constantinople in the ninth century. . . Readers will be caught up in…this exciting read.”—Booklist, Boxed review

A fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue.“-The Horn Book Magazine

“Barrett does a remarkable job of painting moods and emotions with spare, elegant sentences. . . This splendid novel about a neglected period of history is the perfect choice. . . Hard to imagine it being any better written.” —VOYA

This wonderfully engaging novel both entertains and serves as a lively history lesson with its well-researched background, dramatic plot and dimensional characters. Barrett’s descriptive, engaging prose will draw readers into a fascinating historical time, filled with political intrigue and a complex, admirable teen protagonist who faces her changing future with an inspiring combination of heart and mind.”— Wichita Eagle

Product Details

Also by Tracy Barrett

Beaks & Geeks
Back to Top