Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

Challenge Your Shelf: Poetry Month Reading Challenge

Apr 14, 2016 Reading Challenges

Who said reading can’t be competitive? Every few months, we’ll be challenging you to read a list of selected books. Print out the challenge and cross the titles off as you go. Show off how much you’ve read by taking a picture and tweeting @penguinrandom or Instagramming (@penguinrandomhouse) with the hashtag #challengeyourshelf.

Selected Poems by W. H. Auden

Selected Poems

By W. H. Auden

This significantly expanded edition of W. H. Auden’s Selected Poems adds twenty poems to the hundred in the original edition, broadening its focus to better reflect the enormous wealth of form, rhetoric, tone, and content in Auden’s work. Newly included are such favorites as “Funeral Blues” and other works that... Read more >

The Hunger Moon by Marge Piercy

The Hunger Moon

By Marge Piercy

Now in paperback: the superb selection from Marge Piercy's nine most recent books, the heart of her mature poems.

This gathering of Piercy's poems is the first selected since Circles on the Water in 1982. These poems chart the milestone events and fierce passions of the poet's middle years: her Judaism, her deep... Read more >

Burns: Poems by Robert Burns

Burns: Poems

By Robert Burns

The most essential of the immortal poems and songs of Scotland's beloved national bard are collected in this volume. With the publication of his first book of poems in 1786, Robert Burns—the twenty-seven-year-old son of a farmer—became a national celebrity, hailed as the "Ploughman Poet." When he died ten years... Read more >

Collected Poems by Jack Gilbert

Collected Poems

By Jack Gilbert

Gathered in this volume readers will find more than fifty years of poems by the incomparable Jack Gilbert, from his Yale Younger Poets prize-winning volume to glorious late poems, including a section of previously uncollected work.
 
There is no one quite like Jack Gilbert in postwar American poetry. After... Read more >

Darwin by Ruth Padel

Darwin

By Ruth Padel

Now in paperback, the intimate and highly original interpretation of the life and work of Charles Darwin, by acclaimed poet and Darwin's direct descendant Ruth Padel.

Padel is the great-great-granddaughter of Charles Darwin, and in this collection of exceedingly readable, vivid verse, she brings us his life, not... Read more >

April Twilights and Other Poems by Willa Cather

April Twilights and Other Poems

By Willa Cather

Before Willa Cather went on to write the novels that would make her famous, she was known as a poet, the most popular of her poems reprinted many times in national magazines and anthologies. Her first book of poetry, April Twilights, was published in 1903, but Cather significantly revised and expanded it in a... Read more >

Cavafy: Poems by C.P. Cavafy

Cavafy: Poems

By C.P. Cavafy

The Alexandrian Greek poet Constantine Cavafy (1863–1933) is a towering figure of twentieth-century literature. No modern poet brought so vividly to life the history and culture of Mediterranean antiquity; no writer dared break, with such taut energy, the taboos of his time surrounding homoerotic desire.

In this... Read more >

The Complete Poetry by Maya Angelou

The Complete Poetry

By Maya Angelou

The beauty and spirit of Maya Angelou’s words live on in this complete collection of poetry.

Throughout her illustrious career in letters, Maya Angelou gifted, healed, and inspired the world with her words. Now the beauty and spirit of those words live on in this new and complete collection of poetry that reflects... Read more >

Springing by Marie Ponsot

Springing

By Marie Ponsot

From the award-winning author of The Bird Catcher, this life-spanning volume offers the delight of both discovery and re-discovery, as Ponsot tends the unruly garden of her mind with her customary care and passion. The book opens with a group of new poems, including “What Would You Like to Be When You Grow Up?”—a... Read more >

A Season in Hell & Illuminations by Arthur Rimbaud

A Season in Hell & Illuminations

By Arthur Rimbaud

Translated, edited and with an Introduction by Wyatt Mason

“The definitive translation for our time.”
–Edward Hirsch

From Dante’s Inferno to Sartre’s No Exit, writers have been fascinated by visions of damnation. Within that rich literature of suffering, Arthur Rimbaud’s A Season in Hell–written when the poet was... Read more >

Book of Hours by Kevin Young

Book of Hours

By Kevin Young

A decade after the sudden and tragic loss of his father, we witness the unfolding of grief. “In the night I brush / my teeth with a razor,” he tells us, in one of the collection’s piercing two-line poems. Capturing the strange silence of bereavement (“Not the storm / but the calm / that slays me”), Kevin Young... Read more >

Poems by Anne Michaels

Poems

By Anne Michaels

Prior to her stunning first novel, Fugitive Pieces, Anne Michaels had already won awards and critical acclaim for two books of poetry: The Weight of Oranges (1986), which won the Commonwealth Prize for the Americas, and Miner's Pond (1991), which received the Canadian Authors Association Award and was... Read more >

Lay Back the Darkness by Edward Hirsch

Lay Back the Darkness

By Edward Hirsch

Edward Hirsch’s sixth collection is a descent into the darkness of middle age, narrated with exacting tenderness. He explores the boundaries of human fallibility both in candid personal poems, such as the title piece—a plea for his father, a victim of Alzheimer’s wandering the hallway at night—and in his... Read more >

Selected Poems by Mona Van Duyn

Selected Poems

By Mona Van Duyn

This generous selection of Mona Van Duyn’s distinguished, award-winning work spans four decades. Beginning with her classic Valentines to the Wide World (1959), encompassing the intimate voice of Bedtime Stories (1972) and the moving Letters from a Father (1982), crowned by the life-spanning Firefall (1993),... Read more >

Reasons for Moving, Darker & The Sargentville Not by Mark Strand

Reasons for Moving, Darker & The Sargentville Not

By Mark Strand

Reasons for Moving was Mark Strand's first book, and on its publication in 1968 Donald Justice called him "maybe the very best of the new poets." Darker followed, and Robert Penn Warren said, "the moment is always exciting when a true poet finds the secret self that is the wellspring of his inspiration." And... Read more >

Travels by W. S. Merwin

Travels

By W. S. Merwin

“In Travels, one of the most beautiful and moving collections of poetry of his career, W. S. Merwin displays his narrative gifts to provide us with a book of deep historical resonance and luminous poetic grace…With each new book we have been reminded why, for forty years, he has remained a pivotal figure in the... Read more >

The Collected Works of Billy the Kid by Michael Ondaatje

The Collected Works of Billy the Kid

By Michael Ondaatje

Drawing on contemporary accounts, period photographs, dime novels, and his own prodigious fund of empathy and imagination, Michael Ondaatje's visionary novel traces the legendary outlaw's passage across the blasted landscape of 1880 New Mexico and the collective unconscious of his country. The Collected Works of... Read more >

Natural History by Dan Chiasson

Natural History

By Dan Chiasson

Dan Chiasson, hailed as “one of the most gifted poets of his generation” upon the appearance of his first book, takes inspiration for his stunning new collection from the Historia Naturalis of Pliny the Elder. 

“What happens next, you won’t believe,” Chiasson writes in “From the Life of Gorky,” and it is fair... Read more >

Collected Earlier Poems by Anthony Hecht

Collected Earlier Poems

By Anthony Hecht

 THE VENETIAN VESPERS (1979)
“In its clear-eyed mercy toward human weakness, Anthony Hecht’s poetry goes from strength to strength.  The Venetian Vespers is at once an intense corroboration and an ample extension of his subtle, supple talents.  Nothing humane is alien to him…  There is a handful of short poems... Read more >

Voyage of the Sable Venus by Robin Coste Lewis

Voyage of the Sable Venus

By Robin Coste Lewis

Now in paperback, this National Book Award-winning debut poetry collection is a meditation on the black female figure through time.

Robin Coste Lewis's electrifying collection is a triptych that begins and ends with lyric poems meditating on the roles desire and race play in the construction of the self. In the... Read more >

Blue Horses by Mary Oliver

Blue Horses

By Mary Oliver

In this stunning collection of new poems, Mary Oliver returns to the imagery that has defined her life’s work, describing with wonder both the everyday and the unaffected beauty of nature.Herons, sparrows, owls, and kingfishers flit across the page in meditations on love, artistry, and impermanence. Whether... Read more >

The Trouble with Poetry by Billy Collins

The Trouble with Poetry

By Billy Collins

Playfulness, spare elegance, and wit epitomize the poetry of Billy Collins. With his distinct voice and accessible language, America’s two-term Poet Laureate has opened the door to poetry for countless people for whom it might otherwise remain closed.

Like the present book’s title, Collins’s poems are filled with... Read more >

Chasers of the Light by Tyler Knott Gregson

Chasers of the Light

By Tyler Knott Gregson

The epic made simple. The miracle in the mundane.

One day, while browsing an antique store in Helena, Montana, photographer Tyler Knott Gregson stumbled upon a vintage Remington typewriter for sale. Standing up and using a page from a broken book he was buying for $2, he typed a poem without thinking, without... Read more >

Ten Poems to Change Your Life Again and Again by Roger Housden

Ten Poems to Change Your Life Again and Again

By Roger Housden

Every great poem invites us to step beyond what we know, what we think we can dream or dare. Great poetry is a catalyst for change: a change of mind, a change of heart, a change of life- and yes, over and over, again and again, with each new reading, and each new phase of our journey.

That’s why poetry is... Read more >

Inferno by Dante

Inferno

By Dante

In 1867, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow completed the first American translation of Inferno and thus introduced Dante’s literary genius to the New World. In the Inferno, the spirit of the classical poet Virgil leads Dante through the nine circles of Hell on the initial stage of his journey toward Heaven. Along the... Read more >

Plundered Hearts by J. D. McClatchy

Plundered Hearts

By J. D. McClatchy

At last, a definitive selection of the elegant work by a poet at the forefront of American poetry for more than three decades.

With his first several books, J. D. McClatchy established himself as a poet of urbanity, intellect, and prismatic emotion, in the tradition of James Merrill, W. H. Auden, and Elizabeth... Read more >

A Woman of Property by Robyn Schiff

A Woman of Property

By Robyn Schiff

A Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

A new book from a poet whose work is "wild with imagination, unafraid, ambitious, inventive" (Jorie Graham)

Located in a menacing, gothic landscape, the poems that comprise A Woman of Property draw formal and imaginative boundaries against boundless mortal threat, but... Read more >

A Night in Brooklyn by D. Nurkse

A Night in Brooklyn

By D. Nurkse

D. Nurkse’s deeply satisfying new collection is a haunted love letter to the far corners of his hometown, Brooklyn, New York, and a meditation on the selves that were left behind in those indelible places.

Here Nurkse brings alive the particular details that shape a life, in this case unique to the world of... Read more >

More in The Perch
First to Read: The hottest new Penguin titles available months before they hit the shelves!
Back to Top