Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

20 PRH Books Longlisted for 2019 Carnegie Medals for Excellence

Oct 4, 2018 News

The 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction Longlist has been announced and includes 20 books published by Penguin Random House imprints.   Established by the American Library Association in 2012, the Carnegie Medals for Excellence serve as an ALA guide to help adults select quality reading material.

Our longlisted nonfiction titles:

The Line Becomes a River by Francisco Cantú

The Line Becomes a River

By Francisco Cantú

Read more >

Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Jane Sherron de Hart

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

By Jane Sherron de Hart

Read more >

Tigerland by Wil Haygood


By Wil Haygood

Read more >

Educated by Tara Westover


By Tara Westover

Read more >

Our longlisted fiction titles:

Washington Black by Esi Edugyan

Washington Black

By Esi Edugyan

Read more >

The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai

The Great Believers

By Rebecca Makkai

Read more >

Warlight by Michael Ondaatje


By Michael Ondaatje

Read more >

There There by Tommy Orange

There There

By Tommy Orange

Read more >

View the complete longlist here.

The 2019 Carnegie Medals for Excellence six-title shortlist—three each for the fiction and nonfiction medals—will be announced on October 24.

The two medal winners will be revealed at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards (BMAs) event at American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Seattle on January 27, 2019.

More in The Perch
First to Read: The hottest new Penguin titles available months before they hit the shelves!
Back to Top