Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Life on the Ground Floor

Life on the Ground Floor by Dr. James Maskalyk
Hardcover
Apr 11, 2017 | 272 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Hardcover $29.95

    Apr 11, 2017 | 272 Pages

  • Ebook $14.99

    Apr 11, 2017 | 195 Pages

Product Details

Praise

National Bestseller
Winner of the 2017 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction
Finalist for the 2017 Toronto Book Awards
Longlisted for the 2018 B.C. National Award for Canadian Nonfiction

“The problem with memoirs, especially when they are written by Western doctors heading off to Africa for work, is they can be self-indulgent and messianic in tone. Dr. James Maskalyk deftly avoids that trap in his highly acclaimed first book, Six Months in Sudan . . . [and] he’s done so again in his new memoir, Life on the Ground Floor. . . . [His] idealism and passion are obvious .  . . but the strength of the book is that it captures the viscera, real and symbolic, of the ER—its sights, sounds, smells, pulse—without romanticizing the work. . . . Ultimately, that’s what the book is about—making connections, across continents, culture and social classes, and clinging to the joyful moments that can be found amid the horror.” —The Globe and Mail

“Maskalyk delivers a vivid and compelling sense of the emotional urgency in the ER—which is the same no matter the continent—for patients, the people who love them and the people who are trying to keep them alive.” —Chatelaine

“With his moving and penetrating account of his experiences as an emergency room doctor in hospitals from Toronto to Ethiopia, Maskalyk joined a centuries-old tradition of doctors who write well.” —Maclean’s 

“A raw, authentic and deeply humanitarian memoir of life as an emergency physician, written with eloquence and wisdom.” —Gavin Francis, author of Adventures in Human Being: A Grand Tour from the Cranium to the Calcaneum

“Another beautiful, tender and moving portrait of humanity from one of Canada’s finest new, non-fiction writers. Life on the Ground Floor perfectly captures the human spirit in all of its complexities, weaving a powerful narrative that is at once gripping, evocative and tinged with humour. In the tradition of Ryszard Kapuscinski, Katherine Boo and Wilfred Thesiger, Maskalyk has a rare sense of people and place, bringing readers along on an extraordinary journey.” —Samantha Nutt, author of Damned Nations: Greed, Guns, Armies & Aid

“Maskalyk offers penetrating, honest and deeply personal insight into modern-day medical practice with all of its paradoxes, ambiguities and uncertainties. Life on the Ground Floor is yet another superb book from one of Canada’s best writers, Maskalyk at his shining best.” —James Orbinski, author of An Imperfect Offering: Humanitarian Action in the Twenty-First Century

Praise for Six Months in Sudan:

 • “This journey is beautifully told in sharp beats and lyrical notes. It is the voyage of a young doctor in a hard world and deep within his own heart.” –Dr. Vincent Lam, award-winning author of Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures
 • “Gripping and humane. . . . [A] brave and intelligent memoir.” –Daily Mail (UK)
 • “Austere as the Sudanese landscape, plangent as a ballad, this book has poetry in it along with pain.” –The Washington Post
 • “This is a rare memoir . . . with genuinely brilliant writing. I’m sure Maskalyk is a fine doctor, but he’s an even better writer.” –The Vancouver Sun

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top