Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch

The Gone World

The Gone World by Tom Sweterlitsch
Hardcover
Feb 06, 2018 | 400 Pages
See All Formats (2) +
  • Hardcover $27.00

    Feb 06, 2018 | 400 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    Feb 06, 2018 | 400 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“In Shannon Moss, Sweterlitsch has created a protagonist reminiscent of Clarice Starling—fearless, damaged, driven—and placed her in the most original novel I’ve come across in years. I simply loved The Gone World. Set against a murder investigation spanning multiple realties, this is big-idea fiction that defies genre in the best possible way. Epic and mind-bending in scope, it carries the reader through on beautifully rendered, human moments.”—Blake Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of Dark Matter and the Wayward Pines trilogy

“A mind-blowing fusion of science fiction, thriller, existential horror, and apocalyptic fiction…The power of this novel is two-fold: Sweterlitsch’s intricately plotted storyline will keep readers on the edges of their seats until the very last pages, and his extended use of bleak imagery coupled with his lyrical writing style make for an intense and unforgettable read…This darkly poetic and profoundly disturbing glimpse into the potential last days of humankind will surely haunt readers’ dreams long after the book is finished.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“At once futuristic, nightmarish and hard-boiled. Once again Tom Sweterlitsch takes readers to another world and back again. Take the trip.”—Stewart O’Nan

“In a word: Whoa! Edge-of-your-seat crime fiction that bends both time and mind. Think True Detective meets 12 Monkeys. Throw in the end of the world and you can begin to imagine where this gut-twisting tale will take you. This is cross-genre fiction at its best.”—Sylvain Neuvel, author of Sleeping Giants

Praise for Tomorrow and Tomorrow


“A disquieting vision…Tomorrow and Tomorrow is literary sci-fi, focusing on the picture, like Henry James, not the frame that defines it, like H.G. Wells.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Tomorrow and Tomorrow crosses the streams between dystopian nightmares—enveloping both the invasive total-surveillance state of Minority Report and the post-nuclear apocalypse of The Road. It’s quite unusual for a first-time writer to have such a command of so many literary styles. Inherently cinematic…It’s fiction, of course, but just close enough to our reality to be disturbing.”—Pittsburgh Tribune

“Tomorrow and Tomorrow is many things: a near-future cyberpunk thriller in the tradition of William Gibson and Bruce Sterling; a funny, gloomy meditation on technology and mental illness in the tradition of Phillip K. Dick and J.G. Ballard; a cynically outrageous mystery less in the tradition of Chandler than that of James Ellroy. A bleak, gorgeous romp through a pornographic and political American id. If books like this are the future of fiction, I’m not afraid for books at all.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

“Simultaneously trippy and hardboiled, Tomorrow and Tomorrow is a rich, absorbing, relentlessly inventive mindfuck, a smart, dark noir….Sweterlitsch’s debut is a wild mashup of Raymond Chandler, Philip K. Dick, and William S. Burroughs, and, like their work, utterly visionary.”—Stewart O’Nan

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top