Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
Where Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse

Where Futures End

Where Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse
Hardcover
Feb 09, 2016 | 304 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Hardcover $17.99

    Feb 09, 2016 | 304 Pages | Young Adult

  • Ebook $6.99

    Feb 09, 2016 | 304 Pages | Young Adult

Product Details

Praise

Now a New York Public Library and Chicago Public Library Best Book for Teens!

“One of the most ambitious YA novels I’ve ever read. Equal parts fantasy and science-fiction, and presented in five interlocking stories that take place over the course of a century, it’s got something to offer just about every reader. Those of us who’ve been waiting for the next Cloud Atlas have finally found it.”—Tommy Wallach, author of We All Looked Up

Midwinterblood meets Donnie Darko. Taut, tragic, and perfectly executed, Peevyhouse’s brilliant debut is the intertwined tale of worlds colliding in which truth becomes myth, fate becomes destiny, and tomorrow’s past must transcend yesterday’s most dreamed of future.”—Stephanie Kuehn, Morris Award Winning author of Charm & Strange

“Tackles ideas about technology, the environment, time, other worlds, and how we relate to one another…This thoughtful, idea-driven read will be appreciated by those who like their dystopian fiction to be a bit more literary.”—School Library Journal, starred review

“Strange and compelling.”—Kirkus, starred review

“[An]ambitious first novel…that keeps readers on their toes. Fans of adventurous, challenging fiction from the likes of A.S. King, David Mitchell, and Marcus Sedgwick should find this an exciting ride.”—Publishers Weekly

“Peevyhouse’s ambitious debut offers readers plenty to ponder.”—Booklist

“Richly intelligent. . .suitable for fans of Sedgwick’s similarly complex The Ghosts of Heaven, and it’s an ambitious look at how something that seems small can build into disaster over time. . . . This is one of those rare gems that truly transcend the covers—readers will be left contemplating this world, and many of the characters (even if they only get to know them for 50-60 pages in each novella), long after they complete the book.”—BCCB

“Extends far beyond the usual realm of young adult fiction. Consider it dystopia, science fiction, fantasy, or weird fiction, with a spattering of realistic struggles in alternative, uncertain futures. Each novella stands alone, with its own characters and story arc, but when pieced together, they present an overarching mystery that builds slowly and intensifies. There are larger issues here: contemplating purpose, technology in society, the wealth gap, addiction, and desperation. . . . This will appeal to fans of M.T. Anderson or Patrick Ness.”—VOYA

Awards

Chicago Public Library’s Best of the Best Books SELECTION 2016

New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age SELECTION 2016

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top