Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List
Best Seller
A Sister to Honor by Lucy Ferriss

A Sister to Honor

A Sister to Honor by Lucy Ferriss
Ebook
Jan 06, 2015 | 400 Pages
  • Ebook $13.99

    Jan 06, 2015 | 400 Pages

Product Details

Praise

“Vivid, compelling…Afia and her brother Shahid live between two worldstheir traditional family in rural Pakistan, and New England’s liberal college culture…Lucy Ferris’s nuanced insight enables us to see this story from all sidesa rare achievement.”Claire Messud, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman Upstairs and The Emperor’s Children

“A collision of cultures between star-crossed lovers redefines the meaning of honor in this modern-day literary thriller.  Once again, Lucy Ferriss has delivered a bold and engaging novel, one you¹ll find impossible to put down.”
A. Manette Ansay, author of Vinegar Hill and Good Things I Wish You

“A wrenching story of Pakistani siblings struggling to adapt their expectations of love and trust to an entirely different American context where a Facebook post can lead to betrayal and the destruction of an entire family a world away. The story is told with compassion and insight into the traditions of both societies. I couldn’t put it down.”
Jenny White, author of The Sultan’s Seal 

“A Sister to Honor is a powerful exploration of faith, family, and the deep cultural divides that threaten to destroy these in our modern world. Ferriss has written a remarkable novel that strikes the perfect balance between the global and the personal.”—Ivy Pochoda, author of Visitation Street

“The swift-moving narrative traverses very different worlds, creating an exquisite tension that lasts well after the novel is over. Recommended for fans of Claire Messud, Jenny White, and readers who like a political slant to their fiction.” —Library Journal

“Breathtakingly pertinent… A heartbreaking situation, illuminating the cultural gap between the modern and traditional world.” —RT Book Reviews

“Ferriss fills one family’s story with the elements of a political thriller. The well-drawn characters and believable settings lead readers to some understanding of how these young people are torn between tradition and modern life, but there are no easy answers.” —Booklist

“Honor is the heartbeat of this novel as the Satar family grapples with their responsibilities and expectations…Afia and Shahid’s painful struggle is intricately crafted, and the cultural nuances are evocatively depicted in this thought-provoking novel.”—Publishers Weekly

“It’s tricky business writing about honor killing, which to our American mainstream culture is horrific and inexplicable. But Ferriss presents a thoughtful and nonjudgmental look through the eyes of a young woman for whom it is a reality…An insightful and though-provoking foray into a world so different from ours.”—The Cleveland Plain Dealer


Praise for Lucy Ferriss

“One of the best writers around.”—Oscar Hijuelos
 
“A courageous and thought-provoking writer.”—New York Times bestselling author Tom Perrotta
 
“A masterful storyteller.”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Wally Lamb
 
“Ferriss precisely traces the evolution of feeling.”—The New York Times Book Review


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top