Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins

Best Seller
The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins by Gail Shepherd
Hardcover $16.99
Mar 26, 2019 | ISBN 9780525428459

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Mar 24, 2020 | ISBN 9780147515612 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Buy from Other Retailers:

    *This format is not eligible to earn points towards the Reader Rewards program
  • Mar 26, 2019 | ISBN 9780525428459 | 10-14 years

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Mar 26, 2019 | ISBN 9780698189218 | 10-14 years

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Product Details

Praise

★ “Readers will lose their hearts to this sassy and aching heroine. Full of Southern toughness and mountain charm, her fierce and funny voice fills the pages with fine storytelling. This hope-filled book is a beautiful picture of broken humanity, a storytelling wonder.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “Lyndie’s narration is frank and funny, but it’s her love of research and history that sets her apart.”—Booklist, starred review

★ “Shepherd’s crackling debut . . . moves at a quick pace . . . Noteworthy for its strong narrative voice and dramatic character development . . . with unflinching honesty and humor.”—Publishers Weeklystarred review

★ “A heartwarming story about forgiveness, moving forward through life challenges, and becoming your best self. You will love Lyndie’s character and be rooting for her . . . It keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . Great for lovers of realistic or historical fiction.”—School Library Connection, starred review

“An evocative story of healing and hope.”—School Library Journal

“Put aside the other books on your shelf. Read this one. Now. It will pierce your heart in the best possible way and linger there, changing you bit by bit. This is an extraordinary novel that will leave you forever changed, your humanity broadened. Each sentence is a small piece of art.”—Donna Gephart, author of Lily and Dunkin and In Your Shoes

“Perfect for fans of Barbara O’Connor, Lyndie’s voice leaps off the page, and her spunk, big heart, and dog, Hoopdee, leave you longing for the Smoky Mountains she calls home.”—Shannon Hitchcock, author of One True Way and Ruby Lee & Me

“Lyndie B. Hawkins is a crackerjack narrator—her smarts, sass and vulnerability hooked me on page one, and never let me go. This is a bang-up book about being eleven in a fast-changing world, about lies gone sideways, and about the courage it takes to claim and live the truth. Go, Lyndie!”—Sheila Turnage, author of the Newbery Honor book Three Times Lucky

“When was the last time a story broke your heart and made you laugh in the same chapter? A veritable gold mine of perfect words and fine storytelling, The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins will stay with you long after you close the book.”—Augusta Scattergood, author of Glory Be

Awards

Junior Library Guild Selection SELECTION

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Gail Shepherd
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top