Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Toggle side nav
The Age of Treachery by Gavin Scott

The Age of Treachery

Best Seller
The Age of Treachery by Gavin Scott
Ebook
Apr 12, 2016 | ISBN 9781783297818

Available from:

  • Apr 12, 2016 | ISBN 9781783297818

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“References to J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis ground this book firmly in the postwar period in Oxford. Forrester has to cast aside his PTSD and rely on the skills developed from his espionage experience to ferret out the culprit and motive. A dashing new hero has been born; recommend for readers of Jack Higgins and Joseph Kanon.” – Library Journal starred review

“vivid…non-stop action… promising postwar series” – Booklist

“‘Gavin Scott’s debut offers a lively mix of espionage, post-war Oxford college politics, a classic murder mystery situation (the body is surrounded by unmarked snow) and a dizzying supporting cast of characters which includes Ian Fleming, C.S. Lewis, Thor Heyerdahl and even the young Margaret Thatcher.” - MARTIN EDWARDS


“A wonderful book that opens so many intriguing doors into Britain’s recent past.” - TERRY JONES (Monty Python)

“Hugely entertaining: An intelligent, fast moving whodunit set in the depths of a post-war winter. Packed with satisfying twists and turns as the plot moves from snow bound Oxford to Berlin and on to Norway, Fans of Morse will love it! Intelligently plotted and elegantly written, it will delight mystery fans.” - MARK OLDFIELD, bestselling author of THE SENTINEL


“A wonderful historical setting; Gavin Scott brilliantly captures this unsettled time. The writing is elegant throughout and the character of Forrester is most appealing. A most enjoyable read.” - MAUREEN JENNINGS, bestselling author of THE MURDOCH MYSTERIES


“A suspenseful murder mystery that holds the reader’s interest to the last page. This one is a page turner.” - MICHAEL KURLAND, author of THE INFERNAL DEVICE

“A prime example of how to write compelling mystery fiction” - Rising Shadow

 “Packed with historical detail and people, and with a satisfyingly complex series of mysteries to solve” - The Crime Review

 “A fun summer read” - Retrenders

“A complex novel of suspense…blends actual historical characters with his fictional ones exceptionally well.” -  Historical Novel Society

Back to Top