Get a FREE Books of the Moment  sampler!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

Riverkeep

Riverkeep by Martin Stewart
Paperback
Jul 04, 2017 | 416 Pages
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $10.99

    Jul 04, 2017 | 416 Pages | Young Adult

  • Hardcover $17.99

    Jul 26, 2016 | 416 Pages | Young Adult

  • Ebook $9.99

    Jul 26, 2016 | 416 Pages | Young Adult

  • CD $60.00

    Jul 26, 2016 | 750 Minutes | Young Adult

  • Audiobook Download $27.50

    Jul 26, 2016 | 758 Minutes | Young Adult

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Riverkeep

“[Stewart’s] descriptions of Wull’s world gripped in winter are brutal and beautiful, his monsters are terrifyingly plausible, and there are striking moments . . .”—The New York Times

★ ”An intense bildungsroman as darkly comical as it is terrifying and violent . . . Stewart shows a dab hand at crafting memorable characters and thoroughly frightening opponents for them to face . . . He navigates the quixotic main mission to a solid resolution that leaves Wulliam truly prepared at last to take up his riverine duties. A rich debut: Huck Finn meets Moby-Dick.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ ”Filled with wild adventure and hilarious dialogue . . . this vivid, engrossing fantasy will delight readers.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ “This is a rare work that feels like a sophisticated, gritty folktale, full of impossibilities and dramatic tension, and it is both hilarious and tragic in equal measure.”—BCCB, starred review

“The chemistry between the characters makes for plenty of snappy banter, and the plot swiftly flows with constant fights, flights and some slapstick hilarity. Glaswegian author Martin Stewart’s atmospheric riverboat ride is a dark delight, a rollicking adventure of fathers and sons, monsters and magic, and the choices that make us human.”—Shelf Awareness

“A unique and distinctive fantasy world, ably conveyed through very readable dialect and buoyed by near-constant action . . . [a] riveting read.”—Booklist

“With a humorous, light touch and an excellent feel for dialogue, Stewart has created a first-rate fantasy. . . Excellently written.”—School Library Journal

“Woven of threads and snippets of fantasy and myth, Riverkeep presents something entirely unique and innovative . . . It is compelling in the same quirky way that Monty Python is. The narrative is both harsh and beautiful.”—VOYA

“The fast-paced action is compelling. Students who appreciate well written horror fiction will thoroughly enjoy this novel. This gripping supernatural tale includes adventure, monsters, love and loss, and thought-provoking issues.”—School Library Connection

“This sophisticated young-adult novel draws the reader into the melancholy fantasy world occupied by Wull, who is apprenticing as “riverkeep” under his father.”—San Francisco Chronicle

“Perfect for fans of the Wildwood or Narnia series—or anyone looking to sharpen his own writing by admiring Stewart’s nimble affinity with words.”—Austin American-Statesman

Riverkeep is utterly engrossing. There are elements of Game of Thrones in the grittily realised violence; there is Gormenghast in the grotesque comedy; and it has the strange magic of Earthsea. The prose is by turns dense, sensuous, and funny, but never less than gripping. A superb debut nove.”—Anthony McGowan, award-winning author of The Knife that Killed Me and Henry Tumour

“This sophisticated young-adult novel draws the reader into the melancholy fantasy world occupied by Wull, who is apprenticing as ‘riverkeep’ under his father.”—San Francisco Chronicle

“Perfect for fans of the Wildwood or Narnia series—or anyone looking to sharpen his own writing by admiring Stewart’s nimble affinity with words.”—Austin American-Statesman

“The writing is both visceral and highly visual. It’s a remarkably assured debut . . . written by someone utterly confident in the reality of the world he has created and in the appeal of his characters.”—Herald Scotland

“Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Neil Gaiman, Riverkeep is the definition of the term ‘page-turner.'”—IceyBooks.com

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top