Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Words I Never Wrote

Best Seller
The Words I Never Wrote by Jane Thynne
Hardcover
Jan 21, 2020 | ISBN 9781524796594
See All Formats (1) +
  • Hardcover $28.00

    Jan 21, 2020 | ISBN 9781524796594

  • Ebook $13.99

    Jan 21, 2020 | ISBN 9781524796600

Product Details

Praise

“An engrossing, suspenseful page-turner that defies expectations . . . This is a satisfying book, filled with vivid historical detail and surprisingly nuanced characters. It effortlessly integrates real-life figures, including the notorious double agent Kim Philby, who plays a small but pivotal role, and Martha Dodd, daughter of America’s ambassador to Germany, who befriends Irene.”Kirkus Reviews
 
“[Jane] Thynne’s moving, often heartbreaking story of two English sisters on divergent paths is perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly’s Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, or any readers who can’t get enough of novels about women’s lives during World War II.”Library Journal

“Jane Thynne’s latest novel is magnificent. In her first standalone, she expertly intertwines the stories of three different women with secrets—two sisters on opposite sides in World War II, and the present-day young photographer who pieces their stories together. Thynne works with a journalist’s talent for choosing the telling historic detail—including cameos by the ambassador to Germany’s daughter Martha Dodd and double-agent Kim Philby—combined with a novelist’s sense of how those details come together to shape a relevant and timeless story.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope mystery series
 
The Words I Never Wrote threads its way through layers of twentieth-century history, weaving a pattern of love, loss, hope, and tragedy against a backdrop of conflict. Two sisters separated both ideologically and geographically are brought together once more when a half-finished manuscript describing their lives surfaces more than half a century later, allowing their stories to be unpicked and re-sewn together in a deeply moving narrative. Highlighting the power of the written word to bear witness to the seismic shifts of history, this is complex material beautifully stitched. I couldn’t recommend it more highly.”—Elizabeth Fremantle, author of The Poison Bed and Queen’s Gambit
 
“A gripping account of sisters divided by war. . . . Thynne’s depiction of prewar Berlin is superb.”—Daisy Goodwin, author of Victoria
 
“Thynne memorably portrays how the bond shared by two sisters can be fractured by politics and war. . . . Thynne’s elegant narrative immerses the reader in war-torn Europe. . . . Fans of WWII fiction with strong female characters will be immersed in this magnetic novel.”Publishers Weekly
 
“In sumptuous prose, Jane Thynne limns the lives of two sisters ripped apart by the moral choices they made in a time of war. Dramatic, fast-paced, and emotional, The Words I Never Wrote puts the interior details of women’s lives in stark relief against the dramatic backdrop of Europe in World War II, helping readers understand the difficult choices that women made.”
Elizabeth Letts, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Horse: The Daring U.S. Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis
 
“Haunting, taut, and compelling, this portrait of two upper-class British sisters divided by World War II is a kaleidoscopic story of love and betrayal whose characters are never quite what they seem. It will capture your attention immediately and keep you thinking for a long time to come.”
Lynne Olson, New York Times bestselling author of Madame Fourcade’s Secret War

Back to Top