Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Water Cure

Best Seller
The Water Cure by Sophie Mackintosh
Hardcover
Jan 08, 2019 | ISBN 9780385543873
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $16.00

    Dec 03, 2019 | ISBN 9780525562832

  • Paperback $28.00

    Jan 08, 2019 | ISBN 9780593104217

  • Hardcover $25.95

    Jan 08, 2019 | ISBN 9780385543873

  • Ebook $14.99

    Jan 08, 2019 | ISBN 9780385543880

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Water Cure

Product Details

Praise

“Chilling. . . . Unsettling. . . . Feels both futuristic and like an eerily familiar fable.”
The New York Times

“Remarkable. . . . Mackintosh seamlessly weaves together the themes of Shakespeare . . . with the very modern issue of toxic masculinity.”
The Washington Post

 “Sensational. . . . Part fable, part feminist dystopia, Mackintosh’s taut novel turns a keen, unsparing eye on violence, patriarchy, and desire.”
Esquire

“Mackintosh’s novel follows in the footsteps of The Handmaid’s Tale . . . but this debut has its own alluring style.”
Vogue

“Ingenious and incendiary.”
—Laura Miller, The New Yorker

“A tart, uncanny debut novel.”
—NPR

“Haunting. . . . Sumptuous.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Gorgeously dark, disturbing, and provocative.”
San Francisco Chronicle

“Eerie and quietly stunning.”
Bomb

“Creepy and sexy in equal measure.”
The Independent

“An evocative coming-of-age novel.”
Kirkus Reviews

“[An] intense, ambitious debut.”
Publishers Weekly

“An extraordinary otherworldly debut. . . . [Mackintosh] is writing the way that Sofia Coppola would shoot the end of the world: everything is luminous, precise, slow to the point of dread.”
The Guardian

“A haunting, disturbing look into the ways in which young women are failed by those closest to them, and how those failures echo outward, poisoning all of existence.”
Nylon

 “There’s something Joni Mitchell-esque about the lyrical, emotional tone of the prose. . . . Mackintosh’s profound faith in sisterhood imbues her particular dark vision with beauty and a kind of hope.”
Newsday

“A feminist dystopian fairy tale—evocative, suspenseful, and bleak—in short, everything this age seems to be demanding.”
Fresh Air

“Demonstrate[s] why the subtlest fiction is often the most powerful.”
Vulture

“This riveting debut adds another dimension to a post-Handmaid’s Tale world.”
The Telegraph

“Startling. . . . Mackintosh is a wonderful stylist; the full scope of her imagination, as well as the cohesion of her vision, is evident on every page.”
The Irish Times

“A hypnotic read. . . . This extraordinary debut is a feminist quasi-dystopian read for fans of Hot Milk, The Girls, and The Vegetarian.”
Elle (UK)

Awards

Man Booker Prize LONGLIST 2018

Back to Top