Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

The Devil Aspect

Best Seller
The Devil Aspect by Craig Russell
Hardcover
Mar 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780385544368
See All Formats (3) +
  • Paperback $16.95

    Jan 21, 2020 | ISBN 9780525564782

  • Hardcover $27.95

    Mar 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780385544368

  • Ebook $13.99

    Mar 05, 2019 | ISBN 9780385544375

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from The Devil Aspect

Product Details

Praise

“[A] beguiling and gruesome new horror thriller . . . a wildly entertaining story that grabs you on Page 1 and drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming . . . Russell has created a truly frightening story, one that gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife.”
–Danielle Trussoni, The New York Times Book Review

“[T]his gruesome historical thriller . . . gets under your skin slowly and then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife.”
The New York Times Book Review, Editor’s Choice 

“A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller with a one-two-three knockout of an ending that left me dazed. The brooding backdrop of a Czechoslovakia on the brink of World War II just adds another layer of atmosphere to an already nightmarish read.”
–Lincoln Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Deep Storm

“Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading . . . With all the lights on. Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!”
Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author of The Yard

“Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind.”
Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse

“[A] sensational serial killer novel . . . jaw-dropping . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“One of the most memorable thrillers of the year; it’s also unique: the premise is strikingly original, and the mood created by the juxtaposition of the patients’ memories and the real-time horrors is utterly chilling.”
Booklist, starred review

“[A] knockout . . . The Devil Aspect is the best of its kind.”
BookPage

“A seasoned writer, Russell keeps the police case moving at a good clip . . . but nothing to match the ending, which offers more twists than a Chubby Checker album. A smart, atmospheric, and entertaining read but not for the Jung and easily Freudened.”
Kirkus

“Psychological horror and atmospheric Eastern European folklore come together in a chilling synthesis of for what might be the year’s most fear-inducing page-turner, a new gothic thriller by Scottish author Craig Russell.”
–SyFy Wire

“Seriously gothic . . . memorably haunting.”
–CrimeReads, Most Anticipated Crime Books of 2019

“The Devil Aspect is a masterful blend of adjacent genres. There are shades of Alan Moore and Eddie Campbell’s Jack the Ripper graphic novel From Hell and a dash of F. Paul Wilson’s The Keep and Mark Frost’s The List of Seven . . . Russell finds the Devil in the details—and really makes him work.”
–Criminal Element

“A rich and ridiculously entertaining brew . . . that unravels with plenty of shocks, twists and horror.”
–The Digital Fix

“An astonishing virtuoso piece of gothic horror writing. . . utterly immersive, authentically complex and completely propulsive . . .  a must read for all fans of literary fiction, great crime and horror writing . . . that will more than hold its own alongside Dracula, Jekyll and Hyde and Frankenstein.”
Live and Deadly

The Devil Aspect is definitely one of the books to read this year!”
Fantasy Hotlist

“A kaleidoscopic mélange of myth, history, politics, bigotry, psychology, romance, crime, mystery, and sublime horror with each aspect taking turns directing the action, fighting for attention, toying with readers as they struggle to anticipate the shattering denouement.”
–Rougeski Reads

Back to Top