Click to receive personalized book recommendations daily.
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray
Hardcover
Feb 19, 2019 | 304 Pages
See All Formats (2) +
  • Hardcover $26.00

    Feb 19, 2019 | 304 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    Feb 19, 2019 | 304 Pages

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

An Indie Next, Library Reads, and Barnes & Noble Discover Pick!

“The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishly in this bighearted novel.”Oprah Magazine

“[An] intimate family saga sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng.”Entertainment Weekly

“A poetically written story that guides us through a deep darkness toward a faint whisper of light seeping from beneath a closet door. A light that shows how love and forgiveness can come from unexpected places and triumph over more than we ever imagine.”—Delia Owens, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

“I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray’s voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed!”—Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls…an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”The Washington Post  
 
“As in Tayari Jones’s best-selling An American Marriage, Gray uses imprisonment as the backdrop for a disarmingly compelling story that skirts easy answers and sentimentality. Conversational in tone and difficult in subject, Care and Feeding tells not just an American story but several important ones.” —Vogue
 
“Gray’s absorbing novel is about family and the things we hunger for.”Real Simple
 
“Anissa Gray’s debut is heralded as “The Mothers meets An American Marriage.” If that’s not enough to sell you on this stunning novel about family and relationships, we don’t know what will.” HelloGiggles
 
“[A] stark, emotional story you don’t want to miss.”—Bustle 
 

“A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray’s heartfelt, beautifully written debut…Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you’re going to want to talk about.”—Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

“Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important.”—Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years

“This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett’s The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself.”Publisher’s Weekly

“Gray’s engrossing and moving debut novel considers secrets and lies and their effect on the families of three sisters.”—Booklist 
 
“Gray manages a large cast of characters with ease, sharply differentiating between the voices of hardheaded Althea, shrewd Viola, and hesitating Lillian, who narrate the novel in alternating chapters.”—Kirkus

“[A] moving portrait of a troubled family that would be an excellent book club pick.”—PureWow
 
“Deftly exploring black identity, sibling roles, and emotional trauma, Gray paints a nuanced family portrait you can’t turn away from.”—Entertainment Weekly

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top