Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List

How Not to Die Alone

Best Seller
How Not to Die Alone by Richard Roper
Hardcover
May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780525539889
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $28.00

    May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780593104316

  • Hardcover $26.00

    May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780525539889

  • Ebook $12.99

    May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780525539902

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from How Not to Die Alone

Product Details

Praise

“Just the kind of book I wanted to read in these times. Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful, Roper’s cast of quirky, vulnerable characters make for a truly warm and affecting debut.”
J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

“Darkly humorous.”
Entertainment Weekly

“[A] winning debut novel….Roper illuminates Andrew’s interior life to reveal not what an odd duck he is, but what odd ducks we all are.”
—New York Times Book Review
 
“Wryly funny and quirkily charming—perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
 
“Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope in his wickedly witty debut.”
Phaedra Patrick, author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper 

“[An] off-beat and winning debut….How Not to Die Alone earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.” 
—Wall Street Journal

“[A] charming debut [and] enjoyable read, How Not to Die Alone tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it’s easy to root for.”
—USA Today

“The pleasure in Roper’s winning, good-hearted tale is seeing this lonely sad sack cautiously rejoin the world.”
—People Magazine


“Roper’s delightful debut is as funny as it is touching….This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“Simultaneously heartwarming and heartbreaking, Roper’s endearing debut novel is a wonderful exploration of loneliness and the universal desire for connection. Darkly funny and uplifting, How Not to Die Alone will leave you wanting to seize the day as you cheer the protagonist on.”
Bianca Marais, author of Hum If You Don’t Know the Words
 
“Quirky and heartfelt….Andrew’s past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“Funny, moving and thought-provoking—I loved this.”
Clare Mackintosh, author of After the End

“A lively blend of humor and earnest emotion….As Andrew slowly comes to grips with being his true self, without pretense, readers will root for him to find liberation and love. A wry, humorous story.” 
—Shelf Awareness

“Tragic, sweet, and hopeful….This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.”
Booklist

Back to Top