Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out These
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
See the List

How Not to Die Alone

Best Seller
How Not to Die Alone by Richard Roper
Hardcover
May 28, 2019 | 336 Pages
See All Formats (4) +
  • Paperback $28.00

    May 28, 2019 | 432 Pages

  • Hardcover $26.00

    May 28, 2019 | 336 Pages

  • Ebook $12.99

    May 28, 2019 | 336 Pages

  • CD $40.00

    May 28, 2019 | 540 Minutes

  • Audiobook Download $20.00

    May 28, 2019 | 533 Minutes

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

“Just the kind of book I wanted to read in these times. Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful, Roper’s cast of quirky, vulnerable characters make for a truly warm and affecting debut.”
J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

“Darkly humorous.”
Entertainment Weekly
 
“Wryly funny and quirkily charming – perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
 
“Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope in his wickedly witty debut.”
Phaedra Patrick, author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper 

“Roper’s delightful debut is as funny as it is touching. . . . This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“Simultaneously heartwarming and heartbreaking, Roper’s endearing debut novel is a wonderful exploration of loneliness and the universal desire for connection. Darkly funny and uplifting, How Not to Die Alone will leave you wanting to seize the day as you cheer the protagonist on.”
Bianca Marais, author of Hum If You Don’t Know the Words
 
“Quirky and heartfelt . . . . Andrew’s past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“Funny, moving and thought-provoking—I loved this.”
Clare Mackintosh, author of After the End

“A lively blend of humor and earnest emotion. . . . As Andrew slowly comes to grips with being his true self, without pretense, readers will root for him to find liberation and love. A wry, humorous story.” 
—Shelf Awareness

“Tragic, sweet, and hopeful . . . This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.”
Booklist

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top