Skip to Main Content (Press Enter)
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
Toggle side nav

Something to Live For

Best Seller
Something to Live For by Richard Roper
Hardcover $26.00
May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780525539889

Also available from:

See All Formats (6) +
  • Jul 28, 2020 | ISBN 9780525539896

    Also available from:

  • May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780593104316

    Also available from:

  • May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780525539889

    Also available from:

  • Jul 28, 2020 | ISBN 9780593328323

    Available from:

  • May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9780525539902

    Available from:

  • CD $40.00

    May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9781984887566

    540 Minutes

    Also available from:

  • May 28, 2019 | ISBN 9781984887573

    533 Minutes

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Something to Live For

Product Details

Praise

“Just the kind of book I wanted to read in these times. Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful, Roper’s cast of quirky, vulnerable characters make for a truly warm and affecting debut.”
J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

“Darkly humorous.”
Entertainment Weekly

“[A] winning debut novel….Roper illuminates Andrew’s interior life to reveal not what an odd duck he is, but what odd ducks we all are.”
—New York Times Book Review
 
“Wryly funny and quirkily charming—perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”
Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
 
“Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope in his wickedly witty debut.”
Phaedra Patrick, author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper 

“[An] off-beat and winning debut….How Not to Die Alone earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.” 
—Wall Street Journal

“[A] charming debut [and] enjoyable read, How Not to Die Alone tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it’s easy to root for.”
—USA Today

“The pleasure in Roper’s winning, good-hearted tale is seeing this lonely sad sack cautiously rejoin the world.”
—People Magazine


“Roper’s delightful debut is as funny as it is touching….This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible.”
Publishers Weekly
 
“Simultaneously heartwarming and heartbreaking, Roper’s endearing debut novel is a wonderful exploration of loneliness and the universal desire for connection. Darkly funny and uplifting, How Not to Die Alone will leave you wanting to seize the day as you cheer the protagonist on.”
Bianca Marais, author of Hum If You Don’t Know the Words
 
“Quirky and heartfelt….Andrew’s past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“Funny, moving and thought-provoking—I loved this.”
Clare Mackintosh, author of After the End

“A lively blend of humor and earnest emotion….As Andrew slowly comes to grips with being his true self, without pretense, readers will root for him to find liberation and love. A wry, humorous story.” 
—Shelf Awareness

“Tragic, sweet, and hopeful….This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.”
Booklist

Back to Top