Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
When We Were Young by Richard Roper

When We Were Young

Best Seller
When We Were Young by Richard Roper
Hardcover $26.00
Jul 20, 2021 | ISBN 9780525539919

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jul 20, 2021 | ISBN 9780525539919

    Also available from:

  • Jul 20, 2021 | ISBN 9780525539933

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Advance Praise for When We Were Young

“This delightful, endearing outing becomes a heartfelt meditation on male companionship, forgiveness, and navigating life’s ups and downs. Roper’s story shimmers.” –Publishers Weekly  

“Roper possesses a wry and formidable wit. But his real gift is the ability to infuse that humor with such immense heart that it becomes the path for an uplifting and redemptive journey. I loved this book.” —Steven Rowley, author of Lily and the Octopus

“Delightfully life-affirming and funny, a moving exploration of friendship and finding the path to redemption. Fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry will love it!”—Bianca Marais, author of Hum If You Don’t Know the Words


Praise for Something to Live For
 

“[An] offbeat and winning debut…Something to Live For earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.” —The Wall Street Journal
 
“[A] winning debut novel…Roper’s unbridled compassion for his characters is the book’s greatest strength.” —The New York Times Book Review
 
“Just the kind of book I wanted to read in these times. Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful, Roper’s cast of quirky, vulnerable characters make for a truly warm and affecting debut.” —J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest
 
“Darkly humorous.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“Wryly funny and quirkily charming–perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.” —Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
 
“Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope.” —Phaedra Patrick, author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
 
“The pleasure in Roper’s winning, good-hearted tale is seeing this lonely sad sack cautiously rejoin the world.” —People 

Be the first to know!
More from Richard Roper and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Richard Roper and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top