Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
The Family by Naomi Krupitsky

The Family

Best Seller
The Family by Naomi Krupitsky
Hardcover $27.00
Nov 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780525541998

Also available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Nov 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780525541998

    Also available from:

  • Nov 02, 2021 | ISBN 9780525542018

    Available from:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Product Details

Praise

Advance Praise for The Family

“It’s been a long time since I’ve stayed up all night to read a book…. Krupitsky has created a riveting story powerful in its realism.” —Diane Chamberlain, author of Big Lies in a Small Town

“Krupitsky has constructed a work of exquisite tension….A tremendous debut.” —Fiona Davis, author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

“For readers of Elena Ferrante and Mario Puzo, The Family is a compelling read. The themes of family, fate and friendship intertwine in the skilled hands  of Naomi Krupitsky. Sofia and Antonia are best friends in Red Hook, Brooklyn where an unwritten set of laws rule their lives and family business.  Loyalty, love, loss and redemption take this well told tale to a searing conclusion. You won’t be able to put it down!”—Adriana Trigiani, author of Tony’s Wife and The Shoemaker’s Wife

“Krupitsky beautifully captures [Sofia and Antonia’s] day-to-day lives under never-ending tension. The women’s rich stories make this worthwhile.” —Publishers Weekly

“Compelling and electrically charged…The Family explores the darkness that lurks just below the surface of compulsory Sunday dinners, forced family vacations, and the crushing obligations of silence and obedience.” —Lynda Cohen Loigman, author of The Two-Family House and The Wartime Sisters

“Krupitsky’s fierce debut affirms the potential strength of female friendships against the backdrop of intergenerational trauma….The Family is elucidating and propulsive, a nimbly-written exploration of human connection.” —TaraShea Nesbit, author of Beheld and The Wives of Los Alamos

“A nuanced evocation of lifelong female friendship in all its shifting, messy, gorgeous complexity.” —Whitney Scharer, author of The Age of Light

“Lyrical, gripping, and richly evocative, The Family captures in exquisite emotional detail the fierce and complex friendship between two girls, as they mature within the constricting web of a Brooklyn midcentury crime family.” —Christina Schwarz, author of Drowning Ruth and Bonnie

“Reading this book is like listening in on an intimate conversation between friends, a glimpse of a world that feels deeply lived in and generously rendered. Naomi Krupitsky will make you laugh, cry, and long for a really good plate spaghetti. The Family feels like home.” —Emily Beyda, author of The Body Double

“Sweeping and consuming…with astutely observational prose and an insight into the importance of belonging and the meaning of family.” —Susie Orman Schnall, author of We Came Here to Shine

“A powerful story of friendship and loyalty. With luminous prose, Krupitsky deftly crafts a stunning coming-of-age tale of two girls growing up in the Italian mafia.…The Family is captivating; once I started reading this exquisite novel, I could not put it down.” —Jennifer S. Brown, author of Modern Girls

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Naomi Krupitsky
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top