Get personalized recommendations and earn points toward a free book!
Check Out
The Bestselling Books of All Time
See the List
White Negroes by Lauren Michele Jackson

White Negroes

Best Seller
White Negroes by Lauren Michele Jackson
Hardcover
Nov 12, 2019 | 184 Pages
See All Formats (1) +
  • Hardcover $25.95

    Nov 12, 2019 | 184 Pages

  • Ebook $15.99

    Nov 12, 2019 | 184 Pages

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

“What I love most about Lauren Jackson’s incisive and richly detailed work in White Negroes is how it does not imagine any cultural phenomenon as something that does not have a history attached to it. And through the work of charting that history, a new cultural understanding arises. This is a vital text—one that offers new ways of seeing, hearing, and consuming.”
—Hanif Abdurraqib, author of They Can’t Kill Us Until They Kill Us

“Like ‘intersectionality’ and ‘diversity’ and ‘neoliberalism’ and perhaps even ‘capitalism,’ the word ‘appropriation’ has taken on so many interpretations and interpolations as to court ontological disaster: what does it even mean? Lauren Michele Jackson wrestles with the idea, the concept, the history, the bodies, and the selves that are implicated in cultural appropriation. Jackson does not absolve anyone, but she does point toward some of the most complex corners of culture. In those corners she asks us to consider not freedom and choice but power. That emphasis on who can commodify appropriation is different from pedestrian debates about who can do appropriation. White Negroes is a mature meditation for debates that have, at times, wallowed in their own intellectual infancy. The collection is witty, wry, and welcome. In the vein of Imani Perry and Zoé Samudzi, this book is an excellent addition to critical thinking about culture and contemporary racial orders.”
—Tressie McMillan Cottom, author of Thick and Lower Ed

“We’ve needed this book for years, and yet somehow it’s right on time. Miraculously, Lauren Michele Jackson is able to write about cultural appropriation in a way that doesn’t make you want to drink a glass of sand. She brings incredible nuance and a sharp critical voice to a discussion that has sorely lacked both—yet somehow emerges with a text that is as accessible as it is theoretically relevant. Jackson avoids platitudes and easy answers, has a keen eye for history and popular culture, and, moreover, she is funny.”
—Eve L. Ewing, author of Electric Arches and Ghosts in the Schoolyard

Looking for More Great Reads?
Download our Spring Fiction Sampler Now
Back to Top