Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Heaven's Crooked Finger by Hank Early

Heaven's Crooked Finger

Best Seller
Heaven's Crooked Finger by Hank Early
Ebook
Nov 07, 2017 | ISBN 9781683313922

Available from:

See All Formats (2) +
  • Jun 12, 2018 | ISBN 9781683316060

    Also available from:

  • Nov 07, 2017 | ISBN 9781683313915

    Also available from:

  • Nov 07, 2017 | ISBN 9781683313922

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Heaven’s Crooked Finger:
SIBA Fall 2017 Okra Pick
2017 Foreward INDIES Award Finalist


“You won’t put down this powerful and painful tale…a gripping mystery.”
Kirkus starred review

“Can the dead come back to life?…Heaven’s Crooked Finger has action, suspense and a cracking good mystery.”
—Phillip Margolin, New York Times bestselling author of Violent Crimes and The Third Victim

“A twisty, page-turning, modern southern Gothic that packs an emotional wallop…The real deal.”
—Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil’s Rock

“From the opening pages of this book, you know you’re in the hands of a rare talent. Hank Early has penned a fast-paced, thought provoking, and thoroughly satisfying southern mystery. Heaven’s Crooked Finger is a truly astonishing debut, and one of the best rural mysteries I’ve ever read.
—John Rector, Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Ridge, Already Gone, and The Cold Kiss

“Atmospheric…Readers with a taste for raw, intense mysteries will be rewarded.”
Publishers Weekly

Gritty and riveting…Distinct pacing, a redolent sense of place, and striking characters. The mystery is suspenseful and action packed. Fans of James Lee Burke and John Hart will want to take note.”
Library Journal

“A skillfully crafted southern gothic page-turner. Ophidiophobes, beware.”
Booklist

Powerful and profound Heaven’s Crooked Finger is an outstanding work of literary suspense, a tale as devastatingly beautiful as it is powerfully intelligent…Remarkable.
NY Journal of Books

“With Heaven’s Crooked Finger, Hank Early has not only written one of the very best novels I’ve read this year, but also introduced me to my favorite new mystery detective, Earl Marcus. This book is an expert mixture of action, suspense, and compelling characterization that easily establishes Early as a literary force of nature. From the first page, the tension of the Marcus family’s impact on their small town, and the threat that poses to Earl, builds like a charge in the atmosphere, present and deadly threatening, leading to an ending that is electric. Heaven’s Crooked Finger is going to be on a lot of Best of 2017 lists.”
—Bracken MacLeod, Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Stranded and Come to Dust

“A first-class mystery—gripping, atmospheric, and tense from beginning to end. Hank Early’s storytelling is truly outstanding.”
—Andrew Grant, author of False Friend

“The novel’s rapid pace hurries toward a conclusion that is surprisingly unexpected…A solid foundation for a new crime series.”
Foreword Reviews

Riveting…A humdinger of a story told with a fresh voice and more than a lick of understanding.”
Bookpage

“Hank Early’s Heaven’s Crooked Finger grabs you from the first page and doesn’t let go. Evocative place writing, memorable-as-hell characters, sentences that hum, great pacing, and a strutting brutality. Early’s a writer of great power.”
—William Boyle, author of Gravesend

“A Southern Gothic detective story that will long leave readers catching their breath. This one leaves a mark. Early writes like kudzu: The seed drops in the first chapters. The reader should run, lest they soon find themselves entangled, unable to wrest themselves free.”
—Eryk Pruitt, author of Dirtbags, Hashtag, and What We Reckon

Be the first to know!
More from Hank Early and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Hank Early and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top