Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav
Sleeping Beauties by Jo Spain

Sleeping Beauties

Best Seller
Sleeping Beauties by Jo Spain
Ebook
Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9781643853260

Available from:

See All Formats (1) +
  • Jul 07, 2020 | ISBN 9781643853055

    Also available from:

  • Jun 09, 2020 | ISBN 9781643853260

    Available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

Praise for Sleeping Beauties:
“Spain keeps the reader guessing until the end.”
Publishers Weekly

“An especially laudable job of portraying the dangers and injustices facing so-called loose women
who report sexual crimes. An excellent tale that’s perfect for fans of Tana French.
Booklist

“Spain lays out a good story plot and every clue follows a path to the end of the story with no
deviations, no short cuts, just good detective work.”
New York Journal of Books

“Another edge-of-your-seat thriller from Jo Spain…A winner from start to finish.”
Manhattan Book Review

“An impressive mastery of the genre.”
Midwest Book Review

Praise for the Inspector Tom Reynolds mysteries:
“Absolutely my comfort reading.”
—Ann Cleeves, author of Vera & the Shetland series
 
“Jo Spain’s vivid thriller explores the dark secrets from Ireland’s past that continue to haunt Irish Bsociety today”
—Martin Sixsmith, author of Philomena
 
“We’ve been spoiled for choice over the last few years with some excellent fiction from homegrown authors, and this debut from Jo Spain certainly deserves to take its place among the must-reads in the crime/thriller genre.”
—Mayo library 2015 top picks
 
“Reminiscent of Louise Penny’s The Beautiful Mystery… Stories from past and present mingling together like the twisted roots of an ancient tree…Jo Spain is definitely a name to watch for the future.”
—Crimefictionlover
 
“In a very strong year for Irish crime-fiction debuts, Jo Spain’s With Our Blessing is among the most assured . . . an old-fashioned harking back to Agatha Christie . . . The apparently cosy tone is only skin deep, however: With Our Blessing picks at the scabs of recent Irish history to reveal raw and gaping wounds”
Declan Burke Irish Times
 
“Dublin author, Jo Spain, has debuted with gusto…This is a novel of tension, suspense and stories…a page-turner, no doubt. The warmness of the characters made it an extra special read, with the added feeling of reading a modern Agatha Christie tipping it into one of the best crime thrillers I have read for a while.”
—Bleach House Library
 
“Spain’s vivid thriller explores the dark secrets of Ireland’s past that are a real-life situation haunting so many people within Irish society today.”
—Irish Country Living
 
“The best crime novels are arguably those which provide insight into how a society’s fabric is structured… With Our Blessing is a timely exploration of Ireland’s shameful recent past. Good ideas are like hens-teeth and the premise for the novel is razor-sharp…. The denouement is fiendishly clever, a climax in the old-fashioned Agatha Christie-esque sense… a big fat twist is lobbed into the ending like a hand grenade”
—Claire Coughlan, Sunday Independent
 
“Brilliant! Fast paced, well researched and sensitive. Jo Spain is a sparkling new talent”
Irish Examiner
 
“An uncomfortable read that delves into [a] country’s dark secrets”
—Irish Independent
 
 “Jo Spain writes as good a procedural as you are ever likely to read.”
—Crime Review

Be the first to know!
More from Jo Spain and book picks sent right to your inbox
More from Jo Spain and book picks sent right to your inbox
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top