Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Super Host

Best Seller
Super Host by Kate Russo
Large Print $29.00
Feb 09, 2021 | ISBN 9780593286050

Buy from Other Retailers:

See All Formats (3) +
  • Feb 09, 2021 | ISBN 9780593286050

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 09, 2021 | ISBN 9780593187708

    Buy from Other Retailers:

  • Feb 09, 2021 | ISBN 9780593187715

    Buy from Other Retailers:

Buy the Audiobook Download:

Listen to a sample from Super Host

Product Details

Praise

One of:
The New York Times Book Review‘s 13 New Books to Watch For in February
Entertainment Weekly‘s Best New Books to Read in February  
Boston Magazine‘s 42 Books to Help You Get Through the Rest of Quarantine 
Lit Hub‘s Most Anticipated Books of 2021
PureWow‘s 9 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in February


“Russo’s clever debut evokes a time when travel wasn’t so fraught and strangers could get close enough to learn something about themselves.” The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice)

“Brimming with…pure affection.” The New York Times Book Review 

“Here’s that rare thing: a wise, literary novel that is also funny as hell…the perfect antidote to this time of being shut in at home. Super Host gives me hope for the future, when we can all open our doors, and our hearts, once more.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, Buzzfeed

“The Airbnb-novel genre grows with this highly-readable story.” Entertainment Weekly

“[Russo] is a visual artist herself, and she handles Bennett’s relationship problems and his artistic resurgence confidently, with wit, wisdom and humor.” Minneapolis Star Tribune

“[A] candid and captivating portrait of middle age…[and] what it truly means to take a new chance at life.” PureWow

“Get ready to smile….[A] sweet story and the perfect antidote to the chaos that’s been 2021.” –the Skimm

“Smart, enjoyable, clever but earnest contemporary comic novel about a likeable, seemingly hapless—but resourceful, as it turns out—failing artist who sublets his quite fancy apartment to fairly well off nuisances.” Shawangunk Journal

“A droll and endearing debut novel…Impeccably dry-witted dialogue and a twinkling, upscale urban backdrop against which sympathetic characters ache for a connection.” —Portland Press Herald

“Funny, sharp, and artistic…A wonderful book flanked with irony, perversity, Rear Window voyeurism, and women who understand the task of reinvention, Super Host is a case study of what we talk about when we talk about success.” Lit Hub

“[A] witty, enjoyable debut…Russo is a formidable talent, and readers will be eager to see what she does next.” Publishers Weekly

“Kate Russo’s novel hasn’t yet been compared to Eleanor [Oliphant Is Completely Fine], but it should be. The character at its heart…is the perfect blend of impossible and beloved, and the story is handled with a mix of wise humor and compassion.” BookPage

“A painter herself, Russo makes the act of creating art come alive, while effectively limning her characters in this incisive study of contemporary life.” –Library Journal

“In Russo’s charming and poignant debut…the author writes with warm sympathy and humor. A treat for fans of Nick Hornby and Tom Perrotta.” Kirkus Reviews

“[A] pleasantly quirky debut…Bennett is a comfortable character to get to know, as is the London through which he ambles.” Booklist

Super Host isn’t just a charming, compulsively readable, romantically suspenseful novel about a lonely man who gets himself emotionally enmeshed with a series of short-term tenants. Kate Russo’s wise and funny debut also has a lot to say about the neighborhoods of London, the frustrations and satisfactions of making art, and the courage it takes to start over in the middle of your life. It’s a joy from start to finish.” —Tom Perrotta

“I gobbled up Super Host, Kate Russo’s smart, funny, and surprising first novel. She writes with such a generous and insightful eye about love, loneliness and artistic ambition, and has redrawn the lines that connect people in fiction through the most modern and unlikely of settings, the home share.” –Jess Walter

“This is the compulsively readable story of Bennett, a once-famous artist now divorced and impoverished, who lives in his garden studio and spies on his tenants through the windows. Super Host is hilarious, and touching, too; Kate Russo is a terrific storyteller.” —Claire Messud 

“Kate Russo’s debut Super Host is pure delight—smart, fun, poignant, and deeply satisfying. I loved it.” –Lily King

“Kate Russo’s delightful novel is deft, fast, and startling. I could have sworn I was right there, and I never wanted to leave.” —Luis Alberto Urrea

Looking for More Great Reads?
21 Books You’ve Been Meaning to Read
Get the latest updates from Kate Russo
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top