Skip to Main Content (Press Enter) Toggle side nav

Embassy of the Dead

Best Seller
Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt
Hardcover $16.99
Sep 08, 2020 | ISBN 9781536210477

Also available from:

  • Sep 08, 2020 | ISBN 9781536210477 | Middle Grade (8-12)

    Also available from:

*This title is not eligible for purchase to earn points nor for redemption with your code in the Reader Rewards program

Product Details

Praise

This series opener is delightfully spooky, complemented by scratchy black-and-white illustrations…A creepy romp.
—Kirkus Reviews

The story is earnest, spooky, and cheerfully bleak. Those with a taste for dark tales will certainly enjoy following Jake on his gothic adventure.
—The Horn Book

Knight’s interspersed illustrations provide flavor and occasional spooks (her illustration of the terrifying bonewulf is particularly chilling), but her red-nosed, round-cheeked characters add whimsy and a fairy-tale flair that keep this macabre tale from creeping into too-scary territory. Perfect for fans of The Graveyard Book (BCCB 10/08) looking for slightly sillier fare, this is sure to be a Halloween hit, with ghouls and boys eagerly awaiting the rest of the promised series.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

While clearly replete with ghouls and ghasts of all stripes, this British import is creepy but never too scary, and packed with laughs. Occasional excerpts from ghostly guide The Book of the Dead catalog different types of spirits, and enticingly expand the world of this series-starter for curious readers. ­­Recommend for readers looking for a quick-paced, just-spooky-enough romp.
—School Library Journal

Get the latest updates from Will Mabbitt
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
And go from well-read to best read with book recs, deals and more in your inbox every week.
By clicking SIGN UP, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Dismiss
Thanks!
Something awesome is on its way.
Back to Top